Resources
Below you will find links to resources where you can read more about journeys of resilience, and learn more about Black culture.
Click here to explore USC Libraries resources on black resistance and resilience. Scroll to the top of the search results page, use the search box to search the library catalog for additional topics or items of interest. Submit an Interlibrary Loan request to request titles USC Libraries does not own access to.
Norris Library Graphic Medicine Collection
Graphic medicine provides a visually stimulating platform to learn about healthcare issues. The medium also provides the opportunity to explore patient perspectives and experiences. The titles below each explore journeys of resilience through a variety of healthcare issues. Physical copies of these titles are located in the Lower Level of the Norris Medical Library, near the Opening Doors: Contemporary African American Academic Surgeons exhibit.
Check out our Graphic Medicine guide to learn more and explore other titles in our collection. You can also explore our Graphic Medicine exhibit, located in the Atrium, as you enter the library, and our collection on the Plaza Level, as you enter through the turnstiles.
Black Thought and Culture Database
Black Thought and Culture Database
Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
