What are tests and measurements?
Tests and measurements are typically used for research and assessment. They can be referred to as surveys, instruments, questionnaires, scales, tests, or measures.
These measurement tools can be difficult to locate. That is because:\
- There is no database that provides free, full-text copies
- Some may only be available as a supplement - you may need to contact the author or publisher for a copy
- Tests are usually only available for purchase and the full text may not be readily available.
Reviews of tests are available through the Mental Measurements Yearbook. If there isn't a review of the test you're looking for, search for the name of the test in Google Scholar or in PsycINFO to find the article it was originally published in. That article will give you all the information about the development of the test.
APA PsycTESTS, linked below, contains the full text of some tests, instruments and scales. Sometimes you can view a test because it has been published in a journal article or dissertation. In PsycTESTS, in the advanced search section, change the field to "tests & measures" in order to find tests or you can select that filter once your do the search and get your results.
You can search the Tests and Measurements field of APA PsycINFO to find articles that used a particular test or measurement. This can help you answer questions about how the measurement has been used, and whether there are related tests in a particular research interest. See below example:
Tests and Measurements Databases
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5Publication Date: 2013Full text of APA's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-5, 5th ed. (2013) is part of the PsychiatryOnline collection.
The DSM-5 is inclusive of everything in the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria From DSM-5
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowLocate measurement instruments such as surveys, questionnaires, tests, surveys, coding schemes, checklists, rating scales, vignettes, etc. Scope includes medicine, nursing, public health , psychology, social work, communication, sociology, etc.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) This link opens in a new windowUse MMY to find REVIEWS of testing instruments. Actual test instruments are NOT provided. Most reviews discuss validity and reliability of tool.
To purchase or obtain the actual test materials, you will need to contact the test publisher(s).
- National Institute on Drug Abuse Screening ToolsA chart of screening tools relevant to drug use from the National Institutes of Health
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
- PsycTESTS This link opens in a new windowPsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development. Records also discuss reliability and validity of the tool. Some records include full-text of the test.
- SAMHSA-HRSA Center for Integrated Health SolutionsRecommended screening resources and tools for mental health and substance use problems
Tests and Measurements Tutorials
Free Instrument Resources
- BRFSS QuestionnairesDeveloped by CDC & Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) questionnaire designed to collect uniform, state-specific data on preventive health practices and risk behaviors
- RANDThese surveys are designed for a wide range of purposes, including assessing patients' health, screening for mental health conditions, and measuring quality of care and quality of life.
- The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)Survey questionnaires collect additional information about students’ demographics and K-12 education experiences.
- Positive Psychology Research CenterDeveloped by UPenn - Questionnaires to understand and build the emotions, and the strengths and virtues that enable individuals and communities to thrive.
- National Survey of Children’s Health Questionnaires, Datasets, and Supporting DocumentsQuestionnaire used to examine the physical and emotional health of children ages 0-17 years of age
- (CHIPTS) Resource LibraryInnovative interventions to optimize care and treatment of diverse community health issues; including, drug and alcohol use, and HIV-AIDs.