Resource Selection
The next step requires selecting the appropriate resources in order to begin searching the literature for the appropriate type of evidence. Different types of research studies provide the best evidence for different types of clinical questions. For example:
Questions about treatment: Look for systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, and in some cases single-case experimental research.
Questions about client’s experiences/concerns: Look for qualitative research.
Questions about the likely course of disease/disability, likely occupational issues: Look for cohort/follow-up/longitudinal studies.
Questions about cost-effectiveness: Look for economic studies comparing all outcomes against costs.
Source: Bennett JW, Glasziou P. Evidence-based practice: what does it really mean? Disease Manage Health Outcomes 1997; 1: 277–85 as cited in https://www.otseeker.com/Resources/SearchingForEvidence.aspx
For our example we are asking a treatment/therapy question, for which the best source of evidence would be a systematic review of a randomized controlled trial (RCT).
For a full list of databases relevant to OT research, please see the list of resources in the Article/Databases tab. Additional resources are listed below.
AOTA Resources
The American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) has developed many resources to enable occupational therapists to find the necessary research evidence to support EBP. These tools serve as the optimal starting point for any search, as they align directly with the foundational underpinnings of the profession.
- OT Search This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes therapy outcome information, published in peer-reviewed journals. Requires AOTA membership.
- AOTA Evidence-Based Practice and ResearchTo promote EBP, AOTA has developed a number of resources to help members find and utilize clinically relevant literature to respond to both their clients’ needs and external demands for information from the scientific literature.
- AOTA Practice AreasAccess resources by practice area and then click on the Evidence Based Practice link on the left side menu.
- AOTA's Evidence ExchangeA central repository for peer reviewed Critically Appraised Papers (CAPs) and related resources by practice area.
Secondary Resources
Secondary resources synthesize and provide summaries of the primary literature. They serve as an excellent starting point to find quick answers. These resources can be found in pre-appraised databases such as UpToDate, OT Seeker or Cochrane Systematic Reviews.
Summaries provide an overview of findings and methods on selected topics/papers from focused questions or areas of practice. They may or may not be pre-appraised or peer reviewed.
- AOTA's Evidence ExchangeA central repository for peer reviewed Critically Appraised Papers (CAPs) and related resources by practice area.
- UptoDate - Occupational Therapy SearchEvidence-based clinical decision support resource divided into Adult and Pediatric groups. Also includes patient information resources and graphics.
Secondary resources synthesize and provide summaries of the primary literature. They serve as an excellent starting point to find quick answers. These resources can be found in pre-appraised databases such as UpToDate, OT Seeker or Cochrane Systematic Reviews.
Syntheses resources include the publication types systematic review and meta-analysis.
- OT Seeker This link opens in a new windowThis database contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised to assist with evaluation.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsThe Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews provides access to full-text systematic reviews.
- Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based practice database with a global focus. Find systematic reviews, protocols, recommended practices, evidence summaries, best practice and consumer information sheets, and technical Reports.
- PEDro: The Physiotherapy Evidence Database This link opens in a new windowThis database from the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy (CEBP) at the University of Sydney, Australia, provides access to evidence-based practice physical therapy literature. Most trials have been rated for quality. Includes trial evaluation tutorials.
Primary Research Studies
Evidence is not always available via filtered resources. Searching the primary literature may be required. Databases such as PubMed/MEDLINE as well as those listed in the Article/Databases tab provide access to the primary literature. These resources will also be useful for finding qualitative literature.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
Meta Search Engines
Meta Search Engines search simultaneously across many resources and return the aggregated results.
- TRIP Database This link opens in a new windowThis clinical search engine allows users to quickly find high-quality research evidence to support practice or care. It also searches for images, videos, and patient education handouts.
- SUMSearch2 This link opens in a new windowTool searching multiple resources (including PubMed and National Guidelines Clearinghouse) for citations to evidence-based health information.
To learn how to appraise the validity of these studies continue on to Step 3: Appraising the Evidence.