WRIT 340: Advanced Writing Communication for Engineers

Illumin is an online magazine dedicated to exploring the science and technology behind the things we encounter every day. Produced and published by the Engineering Writing Program at the USC Viterbi School of Engineering, Illumin features the work of talented USC undergraduate engineers along with submissions from universities across the nation. These articles, supplemented with innovative multimedia features, relate the far-reaching impact of the engineering profession, and provide a broader view of the socio-economic and political implications of rapid technological change.

Handout from Duke University's Thompson Writing Program.

Scientific American article from January 26, 2018.

AAAS article from August 13, 2015.

XRDS is the ACM's magazine for students. It is published quarterly, both in print and online for ACM student members. The publication was previously named Crossroads and has been running since 1994, edited and maintained voluntarily by students. The magazine was relaunched in May 2010 with a brand new look and feel. XRDS aims to provide readers with material that will stimulate, inform, and educate students of computing, along with helpful information about calls for papers, fellowships, grants, and other opportunities.

Scientific American covers the advances in research and discovery that are changing our understanding of the world and shaping our lives. Founded 1845, it is the oldest continuously published magazine in the United States and now reaches more than 10 million people around the world each month through its website, print and digital editions, newsletters and app. Authoritative, engaging features, news, opinion and multimedia stories from journalists and expert authors—including more than 200 Nobel Prize winners—provide need-to-know coverage, insights and illumination of the most important developments at the intersection of science and society. Scientific American is published by Springer Nature.

Founded in 1872, Popular Science is the world’s largest science and technology magazine. Each month, Popular Science reports on the intersection of science and everyday life, delivering a look at the future now.

The Bridge publishes opinion and analysis on engineering research, education, and practice; science and technology policy; and the roles of engineering and technology in society. The intent is to inform and stimulate debate and dialogue among NAE members as well as policymakers, educators, business leaders, and other interested citizens.

Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
1980 to present.

With the nation's largest editorial department, it offers extensive coverage of national, international, and local news.
1985 to present.

The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City, with international editions also available in Chinese and Japanese. The Journal, along with its Asian editions, is published six days a week by Dow Jones & Company, a division of News Corp.
1997 - present.

The full-page images of this digitized newspaper provides cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content. Every page is full-text searchable.
2008 - present.

Advanced Materials & Processes (AM&P) is the flagship publication from ASM International. As a premier ASM Member benefit, the magazine covers topics like: Leading-edge developments and trends in engineering materials, including metals and alloys, engineering polymers, advanced ceramics, and composites; The methods used to select, process, fabricate, test, and characterize them; Emerging, potentially disruptive technologies, including nanotechnology, additive manufacturing, and materials for alternative energy; Management topics of importance to engineers and scientists

Aerospace America is the magazine of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) reaching nearly 25,000 aerospace professionals including every AIAA member and hundreds of engineering and aerospace libraries. It presents the latest information and analysis of industry issues and technologies. Presented in an inviting and engaging format, it has earned a reputation for delivering highly relevant and reliable information.

Chemical Engineering Progress (CEP) is the flagship publication of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), the global home of chemical engineers. CEP is a trade magazine, not an academic research journal; CEP does not publish case histories or journal-type papers that report the results of experimental research. Feature articles in CEP give widely applicable guidance, “how to” advice, or an overview of a technology and are written by subject-matter experts.

The Civil Engineering Magazine provides a record of civil engineering achievements and professional issues published in Civil Engineering Magazine, the official publication of the American Society of Civil Engineers. Feature articles describe pivotal civil engineering projects and structures that highlight innovation. The archive also includes thought-provoking columns on legal issues, technology, ethics, and historical accomplishments.

E&T is the IET’s award-winning monthly magazine and associated website for professional engineers, with a circulation of approximately 140,000. It covers all areas of engineering and technology through exclusive news, features, analysis, announcements and job adverts. The printed edition of E&T Magazine is sent to IET members 9 times per year and the digital edition is published 12 times per year. The scope of E&T’s coverage is very broad and is aimed at professionals working in all areas of engineering and technology, including the key industry sectors of the built environment, design and production, energy, information and communications and transport.

Focusing on geotechnical projects that use unique techniques and innovative processes, the magazine provides the everyday, real world details that geotechnical professionals need to know. Geo-Strata is a forum through which geo-professionals -- whether educator, designer, manufacturer or constructor -- can express and exchange ideas and opinions on business trends and issues affecting the practice of geotechnical engineering.

IEEE Spectrum is an award-winning technology magazine and the flagship publication of the IEEE, the world’s largest professional organization devoted to engineering and the applied sciences. With roots going back to 1884, the IEEE promotes research conferences, publishes engineering journals, and is responsible for major technology standards, including most famously Ethernet and Wi-Fi. Spectrum's mission has remained the same since its founding in 1964: Our charter is to keep over 400,000 IEEE Members informed about major trends and developments in technology, engineering, and science. Our news stories, features, special reports, podcasts, videos, and infographics engage our readers with clear explanations about emerging concepts and developments with details they can’t get elsewhere.

The Journal of Petroleum Technology, the Society of Petroleum Engineers’ flagship magazine, presents authoritative briefs and features on technology advancements in exploration and production, oil and gas industry issues, and news about SPE and its members.

Mechanical Engineering magazine is the award-winning bi-monthly flagship publication of ASME. The magazine delivers an interdisciplinary view into engineering trends and breakthroughs, giving readers a roadmap to better understand today's technology and tomorrow's innovations.