LIBRARIAN: Sophie Lesinska, Ph.D.
lesinska@usc.edu
Relevant Services and Tools
Navigating USC Libraries portal page
USC Libraries <https://libraries.usc.edu> portal page is filled with information. Explore functions indicated on the image below. And scroll down to see more. Remember to sign in with your USC credential to gain access to full text.
Please note that the Search box has a pull-down menu. Selecting Catalog+Articles rather that the default Everything will work best for your for now. Under Find, you can search for Subject Research Guides (for example African-American Studies, Chicano Studies, Art History, Data) or known Databases by title (for example, MLA Bibliography or Black Studies Center). Remember to sign in with your USC credential to gain access to full text.
Please explore "filters" that allow you limit results.
On USC Libraries portal page, scroll down a bit to see more information. Note "Database Quick Links" listing with a few tools and resources that you will need for this class.
Background Knowledge
Credo Reference: a library of encyclopedias and subject dictionaries
Oxford English Dictionary, the OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3).
Comprehensive Searches for articles and books
Search USC Libraries Online Collections for books and articles: USC Libraries: https://libraries.usc.edu
Google Scholar (searches for scholarly books and articles in scholarly journals both in USC Libraries and beyond). Make sure to log in on USC Libraries page before you search it from an off campus location.
Individual Databases
ProQuest database (a multidisciplinary database with good coverage for scholarly journals and high quality non-scholarly sources such as, for example, Los Angeles Times; New York Times) See under DATABASE QUICKLINKS.
JSTOR database a multidisciplinary database with full-text coverage for scholarly journals) See under DATABASE QUICKLINKS.
*****************************************************************************************************************************************************
******************************************************************************************************************************************************
Specialized, Discipline-Specific Databases
Proquest Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metal smithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
- Communication Source includes articles from peer-reviewed journals and trade magazines covering mass media, marketing, communications, and related topics.
- GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Subjects covered include business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology, gender and women's studies and more.
- Ethnic NewsWatch includes two collections: 1) Ethnic NewsWatch, a current collection (1990-present) of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic and minority presses. The publications offer both national and regional coverage. 2) Ethnic NewsWatch: A History(1959-1989), which includes over 30 full-text newspapers, magazines and journals, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989.
- America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive index to articles and other literature (books, dissertations, book reviews, etc.) covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from the 15th century to the present. Indexes nearly 1,800 journals from 1860s to present, including all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications, and selected articles from scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities.