Research Guides: Geriatric Nutrition: Databases & Journals

Databases

AGELINE This link opens in a new window
Content focus on social gerontology, which is the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. Includes abstracts of over 200 academic journals, books, book chapters, and dissertations from 1978 to present.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) This link opens in a new window
Government resource including broad coverage of: health topics, Evidence-based Practice Center reports, US government programs, research tools, data and statistics, grants, consumer health.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Includes academic journal and magazine articles, reports, association and consumer proceedings, and book excerpts covering alternative and complementary therapies, including homeopathy, herbalism, nutrition, and traditional Chinese medicine from 1990 to the present.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive database of full-text for nursing & allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
Food and Drug Administration Publications This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration site provides information as befits its consumer protection role in regards to foods, cosmetics, drugs and medical devices.
Information is linked under such categories as FDA News, Foods, Human Drugs, Biologics, Medical Devices/Radiological Health, Animal Drugs, Cosmetics, Field Operations/Imports, and Toxicology. The Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER) provides the FDA Drug Approvals List and regulatory guidelines.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
This consumer health resource provides information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Allied Health Collection provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Searches the literature on global and public health issues. This is one of the most comprehensive databases for global and public health. Good for information on public health issues and policies.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Access to MEDLINE database through Ovid. Citations to articles related to clinical and research information in the bio-medical sciences. Coverage ranges from 1946-present.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information. This US-government-produced website provides free medical information and is written for a non-professional audience. Also available entirely in Spanish.
PubMed@USC This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
Science of Aging Knowledge Environment (SAGE KE) This link opens in a new window
From October 2001 to June 2006, Science's SAGE KE provided news, reviews, commentaries, disease case studies, databases, and other resources pertaining to aging-related research.
Although SAGE KE has now ceased publication, you can still search and browse the article content on this archive site.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
World Health Organization Publications This link opens in a new window
Access to reports, guidelines, journals, other publications produced by the World Health Organization.

Sampling of journal subscriptions available through USC Libraries

Nutrition
Nutrition today
Nutrition reviews
Nutrition bulletin
Clinical nutrition
Public health nutrition
Nutrition research reviews
Journal of nutrition in gerontology and geriatrics
Journal of nutrition for the elderly
Journal of nutrition, health, & aging
Age & nutrition
American journal of digestive diseases and nutrition
Nutrition, metabolism, and cardiovascular diseases
Journal of health, population and nutrition