Handbook of Clinical Nutrition and Aging by
This is the new and fully revised third edition of the well-received text that is the benchmark book in the field of nutrition and aging. The editors (specialists in geriatric nutrition, medical sociology, and clinical nutrition, respectively) and contributors (a panel of recognized academic nutritionists, geriatricians, clinicians, and other scientists) have added a number of new chapters and have thoroughly updated the widely acclaimed second edition. This third edition provides fresh perspectives and the latest scientific and clinical developments on the interaction of nutrition with age-associated disease and provides practical, evidence-based options to enhance this at-risk population's potential for optimal health and disease prevention. Chapters on a wide range of topics, such as the role of nutrition in physical and cognitive function, and coverage of an array of clinical conditions (obesity, diabetes, heart failure, cancer, kidney disease, osteoporosis), compliment chapters on food insecurity, anti-aging and nutritional supplements, making this third edition uniquely different from previous editions. Handbook of Clinical Nutrition and Aging, Third Edition, is a practical and comprehensive resource and an invaluable guide to nutritionists, physicians, nurses, social workers and others who provide health care for the ever-increasing aging population.
ISBN: 9781493919284Publication Date: 2014-11-28
Molecular Basis of Nutrition and Aging by
Molecular Basis of Nutrition and Aging: A Volume in the Molecular Nutrition Series focuses on the nutritional issues associated with aging and the important metabolic consequences of diet, nutrition, and health. The book is subdivided into four parts that reflect the impact of nutrition from a biomolecular level to individual health. In Part One, chapters explore the general aspects of aging, aging phenotypes, and relevant aspects of nutrition related to the elderly and healthy aging. Part Two includes molecular and cellular targets of nutrition in aging, with chapters exploring lipid peroxidation, inflammaging, anabolic and catabolic signaling, epigenetics, DNA damage and repair, redox homeostasis, and insulin sensitivity, among others. Part Three looks at system-level and organ targets of nutrition in aging, including a variety of tissues, systems, and diseases, such as immune function, the cardiovascular system, the brain and dementia, muscle, bone, lung, and many others. Finally, Part Four focuses on the health effects of specific dietary compounds and dietary interventions in aging, including vitamin D, retinol, curcumin, folate, iron, potassium, calcium, magnesium, zinc, copper, selenium, iodine, vitamin B, fish oil, vitamin E, resveratrol, polyphenols, vegetables, and fruit, as well as the current nutritional recommendations.
Call Number: Doheny Memorial Library, OVERSIZE RA776.75 .M645 2016ISBN: 9780128018163Publication Date: 2016-05-10
Nutrition, Aging, and the Elderly by
The proportion of the population over 65 years of age is increasing steadily in most industrialized countries. In the United States the proportion of elderly people has risen from four percent in 1900 to 11 % in 1978, and is projected to be 14% by the year 2000. The occurrence of debilitating chronic diseases in the elderly increases with each additional year. These diseases, along with the natural loss of tissue function that occurs throughout adult life, impose a heavy burden on the health care system. Nutri tion plays an important etiologic role in many of these degenerative changes. Conse quently, the aging segment of the population presents a challenge to the nutrition scientist, who should be able to recommend optimal intakes of nutrients to minimize the functional losses associated with aging and to optimize the health of those already elderly. This sixth volume in the series Human Nutrition: A Comprehensive Treatise provides a conspectus of the various interactions of nutrition with the aging process and a comprehensive survey of current knowledge of the amounts of individual nutrients needed by the elderly. The volume begins with a general survey of the multifaceted relationship of nutrition to aging, followed by four chapters on how nutrition can affect age-related changes in selected body functions. The next six chapters cover the avail able evidence regarding the needs of the elderly for dietary energy, protein, calcium, trace elements, vitamins, and fiber.
ISBN: 9781489925398Publication Date: 2013-07-18
Nutrition, Exercise and Epigenetics by
This book focuses on the three most important aspects of ageing research: nutrition, physical exercise and epigenetics. The contributors discuss ways that age-related epigenetic imprints such as DNA methylation and histone acetylation are modified by these two interventions. The emphasis on epigenetics helps to illuminate the underlying mechanisms of anti-ageing interventions, as ageing and disease are predominately epigenetic phenomena. Among the highlights are chapter-length discussion of such topics as: how anti-inflammatory action of calorie restriction underlies the retardation of ageing and age-related diseases (Chapter 3); epigenetic modification of gene expression by exercise (Chapter 5); the role of functional foods and their bioactive components in bone health (Chapter 8); and an account of the first decade of a study of calorie restriction in nonhuman primates, conducted by the National Institute on Ageing.
ISBN: 9783319148304Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Nutrition and Epigenetics by
Nutrition and Epigeneticspresents new information on the action of diet and nutritional determinants in regulating the epigenetic control of gene expression in health and disease. Each chapter gives a unique perspective on a different nutritional or dietary component or group of components, and reveals novel mechanisms by which dietary factors modulate the epigenome and affect development processes, chronic disease, and the aging process. This pivotal text: Documents the epigenetic effect of antioxidants and their health benefits Adds to the understanding of mechanisms leading to disease susceptibility and healthy aging Illustrates that the epigenetic origins of disease occur in early (fetal) development Synthesizes the data regarding nutrient and epigenomic interactions Nutrition and Epigenetics highlights the interactions among nutrients, epigenetics, and health, providing an essential resource for scientists and clinical researchers interested in nutrition, aging, and metabolic diseases.
ISBN: 9781482203813Publication Date: 2014-10-16
Nutrition and Functional Foods for Healthy Aging by
Nutrition and Functional Foods for Healthy Aging aims to equip anyone studying geriatric nutrition or working with aging adults with the latest scientific reviews of critical topics. The major objective of this book is to review, in detail, the health problems of the aged and how normal food, lifestyle, or nutritional and dietary supplements can help treat them. Nutrient requirements for optimum health and function of aging physiological systems are often quite distinct from those required for young people. The special nutrition problems of the aged are intensively researched and tested, especially as the elderly become a larger percentage of the population. Many chronic diseases and cancers are found with higher frequency in the aged, and it is also widely known that many elderly people use foods and nutrients well above the recommended daily allowance, which can be detrimental to optimal health.
ISBN: 9780128053768Publication Date: 2017-02-23
Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2015-2020 by
Learn more about how health nutrition experts can help you make the correct food choices for a healthy lifestyle The eighth edition of the Dietary Guidelines is designed for professionals to help all individuals, ages 2 years-old and above, and their families to consume a healthy, nutritionally adequate diet. The 2015-2020 edition provides five overarching Guidelines that encourage: healthy eating patterns recognize that individuals will need to make shifts in their food and beverage choices to achieve a healthy pattern acknowledge that all segments of our society have a role to play in supporting healthy choices provides a healthy framework in which individuals can enjoy foods that meet their personal, cultural and traditional preferences within their food budget This guidance can help you choose a healthy diet and focus on preventing the diet-related chronic diseases that continue to impact American populations. It is also intended to help you to improve and maintain overall health for disease prevention. Health professionals, including physicians, nutritionists, dietary counselors, nurses, hospitality meal planners, health policymakers, and beneficiaries of the USDA National School Lunch and School Breakfast program and their administrators may find these guidelines most useful. American consumers can also use this information to help make helathy food choices for themselves and their families.
ISBN: 9780160932519Publication Date: 2015-12-31
Food and Western Disease by
Nutrition science is a highly fractionated, contentious field with rapidly changing viewpoints on both minor and major issues impacting on public health. With an evolutionary perspective as its basis, this exciting book provides a framework by which the discipline can finally be coherently explored. By looking at what we know of human evolution and disease in relation to the diets that humans enjoy now and prehistorically, the book allows the reader to begin to truly understand the link between diet and disease in the Western world and move towards a greater knowledge of what can be defined as the optimal human diet. Written by a leading expert Covers all major diseases, including cancer, heart disease, obesity, stroke and dementia Details the benefits and risks associated with the Palaeolithic diet Draws conclusions on key topics including sustainable nutrition and the question of healthy eating This important book provides an exciting and useful insight into this fascinating subject area and will be of great interest to nutritionists, dietitians and other members of the health professions. Evolutionary biologists and anthropologists will also find much of interest within the book. All university and research establishments where nutritional sciences, medicine, food science and biological sciences are studied and taught should have copies of this title.
ISBN: 9781405197717Publication Date: 2010-01-11
Inflammation, Advancing Age and Nutrition by
The book provides a comprehensive overview to understanding the integrated impact of the concepts of cellular and molecular aspects, models, environmental factors, and lifestyle involved in premature aging. Additionally, it examines how functional food, dietary nutraceuticals or pharmacological compounds can reverse inflammation and premature aging based on personalized medicine. This book is a valuable resource for health professionals, scientists and researchers, nutritionists, health practitioners, students and for all those who wish to broaden their knowledge in the allied field.
ISBN: 9780123978035Publication Date: 2013-11-13
Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease by
This widely acclaimed book is a complete, authoritative reference on nutrition and its role in contemporary medicine, dietetics, nursing, public health, and public policy. Distinguished international experts provide in-depth information on historical landmarks in nutrition, specific dietary components, nutrition in integrated biologic systems, nutritional assessment through the life cycle, nutrition in various clinical disorders, and public health and policy issues. Offers coverage of nutrition's role in disease prevention, international nutrition issues, public health concerns, the role of obesity in a variety of chronic illnesses, genetics as it applies to nutrition, and areas of major scientific progress relating nutrition to disease.
ISBN: 9781605474618Publication Date: 2012-12-26
Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics by
Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics is the must have practical resource for dietitians, nutritionists and students working with both well settled but also recently migrated ethnic groups. Written by a team of authors drawn from the British Dietetic Association's Specialist Multicultural Nutrition Group the book provides in-depth information to equip the reader in the provision of nutrition advice to minority groups. Spanning a broad range of cultural groups the book seeks to consider religious and cultural requirements in relation to traditional diets; research on migration studies and chronic disease states; and nutrition and dietetic treatment in relation to key chronic diseases.
ISBN: 9781405173582Publication Date: 2012-04-23
