Skip to main content

Korean Studies *: Home

Korean Science Fiction and Fantasy Collection

Ask a Korean Studies Librarian at USC

Joy Kim

 Curator, Korean Heritage Library
 Doheny Library 122
 213-740-2329
 joykim@usc.edu

Sun-Yoon Lee

 Multimedia Librarian
 Doheny Library 122
 213-821-1567
 sunyoonl@usc.edu

Ken Klein

 Head, East Asian Library
 Doheny Library 107
 213-740-1772
 kklein@usc.edu

Rachel Hwang

 Intern, Korean Heritage Library
 Doheny Library 122
 213-740-7425
 rh_741@usc.edu

Hours and Location

Welcome and Introduction

Welcome to Guides to Korean Studies!  

Print collections in English on Korea are housed in various campus libraries according to their subjects (Doheny, VKC, Leavey, Grand, Art and Architecture, etc.) 

Print collections in Korean are housed mostly in the Korean Heritage Library in the East Asian Library. Current journals, newspapers, and reference books are held in the East Asian Library Reading Room on the first floor of Doheny Memorial Library. Most of the Korean print collections are in the East Asian Stacks on Level 1 of Doheny Stacks.  Korean video collections are in the closed stacks in DML 122, which are pageable from the Doheny Circulation Desk.  For our extensive Korean electronic resources, see the Find Articles & Theses tab.  The remote Grand Library also holds substantial Korean materials (bound journals, large sets, older materials, non-core subjects, microfilms, etc.).  Most of the books in Grand can be paged on USC Libraries Online Catalog.  

The Librarians at the Korean Heritage Library are eager to provide you with personalized service for all your research and teaching needs. If you have any questions, suggestions, or comments about Korean Studies resources or the Korean Heritage Library, please contact Joy Kim, Curator, at joykim@usc.edu or other librarians listed in this guide.

Korean Heritage Library News - 2017/2018 updates

Peace Corps Korea Online Archive

The USC Peace Corps Korea (PCK) Digital Archive formally launched on June 20, 2018 during the PCK all-group reunion in Los Angeles. The USC Peace Corps Korea Digital Archive preserves and provides free access to the historic records of the many PC volunteers who served in Korea from 1966 to 1981, including oral histories recorded by the USC Korean Heritage Library. See the top story in the USC newspaper, Summer Trojan, on June 27.

 

Korean National Association Collection

The digitization project of the 20,000-page collection of the historic documents discovered in 2002 from the Korean National Association building is in progress. Covering 1907-1947, this collection is a treasured record on how Koreans organized themselves and fought for Korean independence in the U.S., Mexico, Cuba, etc.

Nak Chung Thun Papers

The family of Nak Chung Thun has donated his manuscript collection to the Korean Heritage Library. Thun emigrated from Korea to the United States in 1904 and worked as a laborer in California, but in retirement wrote two full-length novels as well as some short stories and essays, all in a turn of the 20th century northern Korean dialect.

Roberta Chang Papers

Roberta Chang, independent researcher of the history of Koreans in Hawaii, lent 47 items (consisting of 428 pages) of documents to the Korean Heritage Library for digitization, as well as several thousand already-digitized items, on 120 disks.  

George Drake Collection

This collection relates to American service people during and following the Korean War who helped save thousands of Korean war orphans, including the content of the website Korean War Children’s Memorial developed and maintained by Dr. Drake.

Curator, Korean Heritage Library

Joy Kim's picture
Joy Kim
Contact:
USC Korean Heritage Library
3550 Trousdale Parkway
Los Angeles, CA90089-1825
joykim@usc.edu
213-740-2329

Related Guides