Skip to main content

William Shakespeare: Find Articles & Books

Literature & Theater Databases (Selected)

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
"...contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War."

Folger Digital Texts
"..are among many digital resources on the Folger Shakespeare Library website, including an extensive digital image collection; Teach and Learn K-12 teaching resources; Discover Shakespeare resources; blogs, podcasts, and videos at Digital Folger; and links to the Folger on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and Flickr."

IIPA (International Index to the Performing Arts - Full Text)
"...a performing arts resource with over half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1864 to the present, covering theatre, dance and film."

MLA International Bibliography
"Index to scholarly publications in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from over 4000 journals published worldwide."

Shakespeare Quartos Archive
"... is a digital collection of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays. A cross-Atlantic collaboration has also produced an interactive interface for the detailed study of these geographically distant quartos, with full functionality for all thirty-two quarto copies of Hamlet held by participating institutions."

Shakespeare in LION (Literature Online)

  • Texts By William Shakespeare - view primary works
  • Search within Texts - search Shakespeare's primary works by keyword or title
  • Resources - view all works about Shakespeare
  • Criticism - journal articles and citations
  • Bibliography - a complete list of the author's works in all genres
  • Biography - an introduction to Shekespeare's life and works
  • Reference - reference articles on Shakespeare
  • Web Sites - a selection of relevant web links
  • Poets On Screen

Multidisciplinary Databases (Selected)

Arts & Humanities Full Text
".. features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM."

JSTOR
"A growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals. Some backfiles date back to the early 1800s. Fields covered include: anthropology, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, literature,  and biology. NOTE: does not include current articles."

Project MUSE
"Full text. 380 high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers."

ProQuest Research Library
"From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. This combination of general reference volume and scope makes it one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer."

WorldCat
"WorldCat is an online union catalog of materials held by OCLC member libraries. OCLC, Online Computer Library Center, is a nonprofit, membership, library computer service and research organization. WorldCat contains millions of bibliographic records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Item records provide information about individual library holdings. Types of materials include books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, sound recordings, films and slides, maps, videotapes, and manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. Updated daily. "