New Databases - Spring 2023
- American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAmerican Indian Newspapers aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
- American Newsreels in Video This link opens in a new windowNews footage covering the years leading up to and during the Second World War. United Newsreel provides more than 35 hours of the American weekly newsreel produced by the U.S. Office of War Information from 1942 to 1946, complete with transcripts, while the Universal Newsreel provides more than 200 hours of content with full transcripts from Universal Studios’ biweekly series that ran from 1929 to 1946.
- American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new windowReports, publications, and news broadcasts covering America's fight for racial justice, with firsthand analysis of race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa, and Asia.
- Ancestry This link opens in a new windowProQuest has partnered with Ancestry.com to create Ancestry® Library Edition. It has coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada, Europe, Australia and other areas of the world.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new windowThis index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
- Contemporary World Drama This link opens in a new windowContemporary World Drama examines the richness and diversity of contemporary theatre and drama from a global context, bringing together new work from established and up-and-coming contemporary playwrights from around the world, including recently produced world premieres and previously unpublished works from every continent. At completion, the collection will include 1,000 contemporary plays, from 2000 to present day.
- Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 This link opens in a new windowIncludes a wide range of primary source material related to the international history of law and society, including: trial transcripts, case notes, police and forensic reports, detective novels, newspaper accounts, broadsides, photographs true crime literature, and related ephemera.
- Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowDiversity Studies Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new windowFrom feast to famine, explore five centuries of primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.
- The Latino American Experience The American Mosaic This link opens in a new windowDocuments the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic groups in the United States. Their stories are detailed through a robust collection of primary and secondary sources, beginning with pre-16th century Mayan, Incan, and Aztec empires and continuing through to the present day, with treatment also given to cultural themes including coming-of-age rituals, music, literature, and cuisine.
- Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism This link opens in a new windowThis collection documents the growth of tourism from the mid-1800s through to the 1980s. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
- National Geographic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowAccess to the complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos. Provided by Gale-Cengage.
- U.S. Intelligence on Europe, 1945-1995 This link opens in a new windowThis collection of over 4,000 formerly classified U.S. government documents provides a comprehensive survey of the U.S. intelligence community’s activities in Europe, including Eastern Europe, Turkey and Cyprus, covering the time period from the end of World War II to the fall of the Iron Curtain and beyond.
- World’s Fairs: A Global History of Expositions This link opens in a new windowIncludes a diverse range of primary source material that documents the planning of fairs, the experience of visiting them and the physical, cultural and political legacies they leave behind. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
History News
History News Network - An online magazine with articles, written by historians, placing current events in historical perspective.
USC Institutes & Organizations
- USC-Huntington Early Modern Studies Institute (EMSI)Supports advanced research and scholarship on human societies between 1450 and 1850. The Institute’s range is global. Unlike existing centers that focus on particular regions, the Institute aims to advance knowledge of the diverse societies in and around the Atlantic and Pacific basins.
- Huntington-USC Institute on California and the West (ICW)A center for scholarly investigation of the history and culture of California and the American West. Through sponsorship of innovative scholarship and research, ICW draws on the resources of the University of Southern California and the Huntington Library to build an innovative collaboration between a research university and a research library.
- USC Center for Law, History and CultureCLHC brings together faculty members from the College of Letters, Arts, and Sciences and faculty from the Law School, sponsoring a wide range of scholarly and cultural activities
Professional Organizations
Keep up with the profession by joining listservs or subscribing to RSS feeds from these professional organizations:
- American Historical Association (AHA)Keep up by subscribing to RSS feeds
- Canadian Historical Association (CHA)Founded in 1922, the Canadian Historical Association/ Société historique du Canada is a bilingual scholarly organization dedicated to research in all fields of history.
- Center for History & New Media @ George Mason UniversityFounded in 1994, CHNM uses digital media and computer technology to democratize history—to incorporate multiple voices, reach diverse audiences, and encourage popular participation in presenting and preserving the past.
- H-NetAn international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the WWW. Edited listservs and websites publish peer reviewed essays, multimedia materials, and discussion for colleagues and the interested public.
- National Council on Public History (NCPH)A membership association dedicated to making the past useful in the present and to encouraging collaboration between historians and their public. Public history involves the many and diverse ways in which history is put to work in the world; it is history that is applied to real-world issues.