History, U.S. & Canada *

Provides access to a wide variety of primary source material from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library in Chicago.

The collection has been compiled by consulting a number of bibliographies, including: A Biobibliography of Native American Writers, 1772-1924 by Daniel F. Littlefield, Jr. and James W. Parins Sources for the ethnography of northeastern North America to 1611, by David B. Quinn.

Includes collections from across Canadian and American institutions, from the 17th-20th century. Includes manuscripts; books; tribe and Indian-related newspapers; Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages.

Includes a large variety of primary source records on the interactions between American Indians and the U.S. government and settlers in the 19th and 20th century. Contains records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes (1914-1971) and records on Indian Removal to the West, 1832-1840 from the Office of Commissary General of Subsistence, and much more.

Provides access Indian Claims Commission (ICC) materials, and the ability to trace the history of Indian claims by Indian Nation. Contains court documents, treaties, related congressional publications, and maps.

This collection documents the social and cultural forces that shaped the everyday lives of men and women in America from 1800 to 1920, addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home life, health and popular pastimes. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

Contains more than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; the broad scope of the collection allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others.

This is a primary full-text digital collection of over 150,000 pages of diaries and letters related to the experiences of 1,325 women.

This collection of primary sources provides access to The National Woman's Party Papers, The League of Women Voters, and The papers of the Women's Action Alliance (WAA).

Women's Travel Diaries and Correspondence from The Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

Organized around the history of women in social movements between 1600 and the present,

A comprehensive archive of Women'€™s Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images.

Provides access to high-resolution color images of these publications: Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Better Homes and Garden, Parents, Chatelaine, Vogue, and Harper’s Bazaar.

Includes a wide range of primary source material related to the international history of law and society, including: trial transcripts, case notes, police and forensic reports, detective novels, newspaper accounts, broadsides, photographs true crime literature, and related ephemera.

Provides centralized access to 48 Gale Primary source collections

Database of full text online news, legal cases, and company information from 1980 to present. Includes Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One.

Records of the American colonies, state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters and more, 1620-1970.

The Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926 is a digital collection of more than 10,000 titles describing courtroom dramas published between 1600 and 1926.

This database indexes and abstracts a broad spectrum of Congressional publications, including hearings (testimony), committee prints, reports, documents, and full text of bills and public laws, and the U.S. Statutes at Large from 1789 to the present.

This resource provides researchers with content and workflow tools to facilitate research tasks associated with administrative law, from 1936-2016. As a companion to Legislative Insight, Regulatory Insight offers regulatory histories associated with public laws compiled by our editorial staff.

Consists of 11 collections, including the papers of Albert Levitt, Felix Frankfurter, Livingston Hall, Louis D. Brandeis, Richard H. Field, Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr., Roscoe Pound, the Sacco-Vanzetti Case, Sheldon Glueck, William H. Hastie, and Zechariah Chafee. Frankfurter'€™s and Brandeis's papers provide a behind-the-scenes view of the Supreme Court between 1919 and 1961.

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 is a fully searchable database of approximately 11 million pages and more than 350,000 separate documents related to the Supreme Court from 1832-1978.

Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.

Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century

A digital archive of manuscript materials from the holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society (AJHS) in New York. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

From government-led population drives during the early nineteenth century through to mass steamship travel, Migration to New Worlds showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Explore British Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolors, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. With more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, the collection provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. Much of the material is previously unpublished. Several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time, are included, along with thousands of political cartoons. Never before have scholars been able to search these documents easily and find answers to complex questions with just a few clicks.

The files in this primary source collection cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930, and European immigration.

The records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) on free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, immigration, labor, radicalism, and related topics support the study of American legal history and complement the modules in the Making of Modern Law series. Documents include newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, court files, memorandums, telegrams, minutes, and legal case records.

Oral History Online provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. The collection also provides keyword searching of more than 329,400 pages of full-text by close to 10,000 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to over 4,200 audio and video files and almost 19,000 bibliographic records.

Reports, publications, and news broadcasts covering America's fight for racial justice, with firsthand analysis of race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa, and Asia.

The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.

A comprehensive multimedia digital collection and primary source project created to ensure that historical materials related to the United Farmworkers of America (UFW) and the life of Cesar Chavez would be preserved. Photographs, videos, documentaries, oral histories and fulltext of selected books. Searchable and browsable by topics.

"Homophile Movement"€ refers to organizations and political strategies employed by the GLBT community prior to the era of confrontational activism of the 1970s.

Provides access to 4 primary source modules: (1) Federal Government Records – Includes FBI Files on Martin Luther King Jr. and other civil rights activists, records from from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations, detailing the interaction between civil rights leaders and organizations and the federal government; (2) Federal Government Records, Supplement - includes civil rights records from the Civil Rights Division of the Justice Department during the Ford presidency and from the Ronald Reagan White House Office Records related to civil rights. (3) Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1 - Includes papers and records of various individuals and civil rights organizations, including: Claude A. Barnett's Associated Negro Press, Mary McLeod Bethune's National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, the Revolutionary Action Movement and the League of Revolutionary Black Workers. (4) Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2 - Includes the records of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the Africa-related papers of Claude Barnett, the Robert F. Williams Papers, the papers of Chicago Congressman Arthur W. Mitchell, the Chicago chapter of the Congress of Racial Equality, and records pertaining to the Mississippi Freedom Summer.

This module consists of records of the FBI and the Subversive Activities Control Board from 1945-1972.

The collection, made up of 6 modules, contains nearly 2 million pages of internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country.

Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. Organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics, this collection will include at completion 175 hours of video, 100,000 pages of printed materials.

This Rotunda collection provides access to the papers of some of the major figures of the early republic: John Adams, Alexander Hamilton, Andrew Jackson, John Jay, Thomas Jefferson, Dolley and James Madison, John Marshall, Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry, and George Washington.

A website developed by the University of California-Santa Barbara. It is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database the following content:
• The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913)
• The Public Papers of the Presidents Hoover to G.W. Bush (1929-2006) & Obama (2009)
• The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: Carter - G.W. Bush (1977-2009)
• The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: Obama (2009-2012)
In addition this collection also contains thousands of other documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.

Part of the Archive of Americana, this collection contains legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.

Declassified Documents Index provides full text access to formerly U.S. government classified documents that Primary Source Media obtains as they are declassified.

This collection of primary sources includes President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s Office Files as well as FBI Reports of the Roosevelt White House; Civilian Conservation Corps Press Releases; Records of the Committee on Economic Security; and Department of Treasury records.

This Rotunda collection includes all 59 volumes of the print edition published up to 2009, encompassing five series and the complete diaries.

The Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1939, offer an extensive collection of documents produced by the Federal government from our nation'€™s founding through the early 20th century.

The Kennedy files include documents from the 1960 presidential campaign and cover the major issues dealt with during his presidency.

This database indexes and abstracts a broad spectrum of Congressional publications, including hearings (testimony), committee prints, reports, documents, and full text of bills and public laws, and the U.S. Statutes at Large from 1789 to the present.

The U.S. State Department Central Files are an important source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the 20th century. Countries covered in this module include China, Far East (general), Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Philippine Republic, and Vietnam.

This collection contains a wide range of primary source materials from U.S. diplomats in foreign countries: special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; court proceedings and other legal documents; letters, instructions and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers; and translations of high-level foreign government documents.

Contains 3,500 World War II and Cold War era classified reports about Asia, Europe, the Soviet Union, the Middle East, Latin America, and Africa commissioned by the Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and the U.S. State Department and written by the days’ leading scholars. At the time, the reports helped to shape U.S. foreign policy decisions. Topics include the German war effort, occupation and division of Germany, reconstruction of Europe under the Marshall Plan, Soviet control of Eastern Europe, Palestine, African nationalism, Communist movements in South America and U.S. intervention in Central America.

This resource provides researchers with content and workflow tools to facilitate research tasks associated with administrative law, from 1936-2016. As a companion to Legislative Insight, Regulatory Insight offers regulatory histories associated with public laws compiled by our editorial staff.

A full-text database of key publications of the United States Congress.

This collection searches a unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.
Over 15,000 items are available for searching.

Documents in Series I: Petitions to State Legislatures, 1777-1867 include primary source materials digitized from the state archives of Alabama, Delaware, Florida, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.

Primary sources included are from the papers (business and financial records, diaries, letterbooks, correspondence, etc.) of dozens (both prominent and average) slaveholding families from plantations in Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, North Carolina South Carolina, Georgia, and Virginia.

Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict.

28 min video tutorial => http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kwbrp6Pwvf0

This portal for slavery and abolition studies brings together documents and collections from dozens of libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. It also includes significant coverage of US court records from the local, regional and Supreme Court level.

We have access to Part II-IV: (2) Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, (3)The Institution of Slavery (1492-1888), (4) The Age of Emancipation. Provided by Gale-Cengage.

Historical Statistics of the United States has long been the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history.

Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.

Database of public opinion polls taken on a variety of subjects.

An annual summary publication of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Include a detailed description of a publication's statistical contents and primary bibliographic information like title, date, collation, agency report number (if any), and periodicity.
Whenever possible, the Superintendent of Documents classification number, the Library of Congress card number, the Government Printing Office (GPO) Monthly Catalog entry number, the GPO stock number, and the depository item number are also included. The abstract may also contain two hypertext links - one to the agency's World Wide Web site where the full text of the publication may be viewed and downloaded; the other to the full text on Statistical Universe, where the publication can be viewed, downloaded and accessed section by section or table by table.