Perfusion Sciences Program

Cardiopulmonary Bypass by Sunit Ghosh (Editor); Florian Falter (Editor); Albert C. Perrino (Editor) Cardiopulmonary Bypass, 2nd edition, offers a complete introduction to this specialist technique for medical and technical personnel involved in extracorporeal cardiopulmonary support. A clinically based overview of the subject is provided and updated chapters incorporate the most current developments in the field. Introductory chapters cover equipment and preparation of the cardiopulmonary bypass machine, safety and monitoring, routine conduct of bypass, and the process of weaning from mechanical to physiological circulation. Specialist chapters on mechanical support, ECMO, special surgical procedures, blood conservation techniques, and particular medical conditions that affect the conduct of cardiopulmonary bypass are also included. This new edition includes self-assessment multiple choice questions at the end of each chapter, allowing readers to test their own understanding of the material. Written and edited by specialists from leading cardiac centres in the UK and USA, this is an invaluable resource for clinical perfusion scientists, cardiac surgeons and cardiothoracic anaesthetists in training.

Cardiopulmonary Bypass by Kaan Kırali (Editor); Joseph S. Coselli (Editor); Afksendiyos Kalangos (Editor) Cardiopulmonary Bypass: Advancements in Extracorporeal Life Support provides comprehensive coverage on the technological developments and clinical applications of extracorporeal technologies, including the underlying basic science and the latest clinical advances in the field. Written by experts around the world, this book comprises all characteristics of cardiopulmonary bypass as well as chapters regarding equipment, physiology and pathology, pediatric aspects and clinical applications. Important highlights include the latest updates regarding minimal invasive cardiopulmonary bypass (MICPB), extracorporeal circulatory and respiratory support (ECCRS) in cardiac and non-cardiac patients, ECMO support in COVID-19, and updated guidelines of extracorporeal technologies. This book is an invaluable resource to clinicians, researchers and medical students in the fields of cardiothoracic surgery, cardiac anesthesiology, intensive care, and perfusion technology.

Cardiopulmonary Bypass and Mechanical Support by Glenn P. Gravlee; Richard F. Davis; John Hammon; Barry Kussman Offering a unique, multidisciplinary approach to the complexities of CPB, the 4th Edition of Cardiopulmonary Bypass and Mechanical Support: Principles & Practice remains the gold standard in the field. This edition brings you fully up to date with every aspects of cardiopulmonary bypass, including new information on management of pediatric patients, CPB's role with minimally invasive and robotic cardiac surgery, mechanical circulatory support, miniaturized circuits and CPB, sickle cell disease and CPB management, and much more. A newly expanded title reflects the rapidly evolving nature of extracorporeal technology, encompassing both short-term and long-term forms of cardiac and pulmonary support. Key Features The most comprehensive and authoritative text in the field, widely used by anesthesiologists, perfusionists, and cardiothoracic surgeons, as well as intensive care specialists, neonatologists, and interventional cardiologists. Provides expert, full-color guidance on equipment, physiology and pathology, hematology, clinical applications, and neonates, infants, and children. Addresses univentricular and biventricular assist devices, as well as the various forms of extracorporeal pulmonary support that may or may not include circulatory assistance. Includes a brand-new look at the Development of Cardiopulmonary Bypass, offering an up-to-date analysis of the history of the field. Two new co-editors, Drs. John W. Hammon and Barry D. Kussman, provide a fresh perspective and additional expertise. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use

Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by John E. Hall; Michael E. Hall Known for its clear presentation style, single-author voice, and focus on content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th Edition, employs a distinctive format to ensure maximum learning and retention of complex concepts. A larger font size emphasizes core information, while supporting information, including clinical examples, are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue - making it easy to quickly skim the essential text or pursue more in-depth study. This two-tone approach, along with other outstanding features, makes this bestselling text a favorite of students worldwide. Offers a clinically oriented perspective written with the clinical and preclinical student in mind, bridging basic physiology with pathophysiology. Focuses on core material and how the body maintains homeostasis to remain healthy, emphasizing the important principles that will aid in later clinical decision making. Presents information in short chapters using a concise, readable voice that facilitates learning and retention. Contains more than 1,200 full-color drawings and diagrams - all carefully crafted to make physiology easier to understand. Features expanded clinical coverage including obesity, metabolic and cardiovascular disorders, Alzheimer's disease, and other degenerative diseases. Includes online access to interactive figures, new audio of heart sounds, animations, self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Perfusion for Congenital Heart Surgery by Gregory S. Matte A complete guide to the tools and techniques for modeling, simulating, and optimizing SSFE processes and phenomena In Modeling, Simulation, and Optimization of Supercritical and Subcritical Fluid Extraction Processes, a team of expert chemical engineers delivers a comprehensive guide to the tools and techniques used to model supercritical and subcritical fluid extraction (SSFE) processes and phenomena. The book offers details on SSFE experiment management, as well as modeling and optimization of SSFE. The authors begin with a discussion of the fundamentals of SSFE and the necessary experimental techniques to validate the models. They also discuss process simulators, conventional optimization techniques, and state-of-the-art genetic algorithm methods. Several practical examples and case studies on SSFE modeling and optimization techniques are provided. Additionally, detailed thermodynamic modeling with and without co-solvent and non-equilibrium system modeling are covered. Readers will also find: A detailed overview of the field of supercritical and subcritical fluid extraction and their importance to the food, cosmetics, and pharmaceutical industries Explorations of the concepts and methodologies for modeling, simulation, and optimization of SSFE, including conservation laws related to SSFE traditional first principle modeling Practical discussions of the characteristics and physical properties of palm oil as a solute and descriptions of some existing palm oil industrial processes An examination of first principle methodology as applied to the modeling of the properties of palm oil components and mixtures Perfect for researchers, scientists, technologists, and engineers working in food science and the pharmaceutical, cosmetic, and agricultural industries, Modeling, Simulation, and Optimization of Supercritical and Subcritical Fluid Extraction Processes is also a must-read for those working with process design, development, quality control, and improvement in the chemical industries.