About Articles in Music
There is no one source for articles in Music Education, which is why useful databases have been divided into categories.
Choose Music Databases for performance and musicological-related inquiries.
Choose Education Databases for articles on primary, secondary, and higher education.
Choose Psychology Databases for research about music and the mind.
Choose Medical Databases for research on music and medicine and physiology.
You can also search a number of these databases together in the Proquest database.
Frequently Read Articles from the Journal of Resesarch in Music Education
Loading ...
Music Databases
- International Index to Music PeriodicalsScholarly and popular articles in music. Abstracts included for all citations. Full-text available for more recent articles. 1996-present.
- RILM: Répertoire International de Littérature MusicaleAbstracts of international articles, books, festschriften, dissertations, and conference proceedings in over 200 languages.
- Music Index OnlineIndex of nearly 900 domestic and international journals in music. Full-text for some articles available through JSTOR. 1973-present.
Education Databases
- ERICPublished and unpublished materials in education. 1996-present.
- Education Full-TextProvides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, special education and educational tests.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Expanded Academic ASAPAbstracts or citations for articles from more than 3,500 scholarly, trade and general-interest publications, as well as citations for The New York Times. Many articles are available in full-text.
- JSTORJSTOR includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, including both education and music. The database is full-text. Note that JSTOR does not include coverage for the last five years of any journal.
- LexisNexis AcademicDatabase of full text online news, business, financial, legal, medical, biographical, government and domestic and international newspaper resources.
- ProQuest Research LibraryProQuest Research Library is a multi-disciplinary index. It covers dozens of subject areas and indexes thousands of scholarly and general titles and provides full-text for a significant number of the articles included. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.
Psychology Databases
- PsycINFOInternational literature in psychology. 1890-present
- PsycARTICLESArticles from journals published by the American Psychological Association.
Medical Databases
- MedlineProduced by the National Library of Medicine. Index of over 17 million records covers all areas of Western medicine. 1950-present.
- Alt-HealthWatchFull-text database focusing on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers a variety of publication types, including academic and peer-reviewed journals.
