Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A wide variety of reference tools are listed here for your scholarly use.
The dictionaries and encyclopedias will help you explore musical subjects and learn more about composers and performers.
The directories will help you find everything from opera companies to early music programs.
is a citation management software that allows you to create your own personal database. Use it to keep track of references as you conduct research and easily generate bibliographies. RefWorks
Here are a couple of great videos my colleague Jade Winn developed to help students find materials in the Libraries. Check them out!
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Oxford Music Online
Includes Grove Music Online (dictionaries of Music and Musicians, Jazz, Opera, American Music, and Musical Instruments), the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
The first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world, integrating text, images, and musical examples within the Music Online interface.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
The most recent edition of the important 6-volume print dictionary of major and minor musicians.
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart
The leading German-language music encyclopedia, consisting of subject entries (Sachteil) in 10 print volumes and biographical entries (Personenteil) in 17 print volumes.
African American Music Reference
The first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.