Research Guides: Law, History & Culture: Finding Databases & Journals

Core Databases - Secondary Sources

Start with these core history databases for locating scholarly secondary sources:

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive index to articles and other literature (books, dissertations, book reviews, etc.) covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from the 15th century to the present. Indexes nearly 1,800 journals from 1860s to present, including all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications, and selected articles from scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Login required
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present
This database provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 and access to the full text of more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.

Law Journal databases:

HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 700 law and law review journals, most back to the first volume (most recent issues are often not included)
Nexis Uni (formerly LEXIS/NEXIS Academic) This link opens in a new window
Database of full text online news, legal cases, and company information from 1980 to present. Includes Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One.

Selection of Cultural Studies Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 737,175 records (as of July 9, 2009) on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases (RLIN, OCLC, etc.). The online BAS offers users various methods for seeking citations. A separate screen allows users to set their preferences for displaying and downloading data in different formats and character encodings. The BAS is updated regularly, with batch posting of thousands of new entries in each upload.
Bibliography of Native North Americans This link opens in a new window
From the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), this is an electronic publication that contains the citations from the cumulative eight volumes of the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America as well as additional new citations.
The Bibliography of Native North Americans contains citations to literature about native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present. Native North Americans include Aleuts; Eskimos or Inuit of Greenland, northern Canada, Alaska, and eastern Siberia; and other native peoples (i.e. "Indians") of Alaska, Canada, the United States, and Mexico north of the northern boundary of Mesoamerica. All citations are to published materials: books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The Black Studies Center provides access to several resources at once: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), 10 historical African American newspapers, Black Literature Index and 100 oral history videos in History Makers.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
A major bibliographic database for topics in the humanities, social and behavioral sciences on Mexican-Americans and Chicano and Latino Studies.
Hispanic-American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Locate articles in the humanities and social sciences from and about Latin America and related to Chicano and Latino studies from the Hispanic American Periodicals Index. Some fulltext available.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals of which 470 are peer-reviewed dating as far back as 1984.
The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Part of the OmniFile collection.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Transsexual issues.
Comprehensive coverage includes traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content such as non-fiction books, bibliographies and dissertations. Disciplines include athletics, health, law, sociology, family, religion, civil liberties, employment and entertainment.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstract database of sociology and social and behavioral sciences literature from 1952 to present. Includes journal articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The database contains 40,000 records gathered from legislative groups, research institutions, public research agencies, universities, and scholars from around the world covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Coverage is from 1973 to the present.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
This is an index to the core disciplines in women's studies and feminist research. Coverage includes more than 586,600 records and spans from 1972 to present. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.

Find out if USC has a Specific Journal

If you are looking for a specific journal, select Journals on the Libraries homepage:

If you have the exact title of the journal, search for the title and on the Results page, select "Sort by: Title":

If we have online access to this publication you'll see one or more results, with the dates available and the name of the database or publisher linking you to the journal. If we have the journal in print or on microfilm you will see location information under the "Availability" section of the item record.