LGBTQIA+ Search Terms
LGBTQIA+ language and terminology is constantly evolving and changing. Language and terms that were acceptable in the past may no longer be acceptable in the present. Older research articles often use verbiage now considered outdated, unacceptable, or overly clinical for use in present conversation or writing. Thus, depending on your topic, in addition to using current terms, you may have to use some search terms that were used in the past but considered unacceptable today.
- Identifying Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Search Terminology: A Systematic Review of Health Systematic ReviewsSystematic review on searching the literature on LGBT-related topics.
Database A-Z List
Databases
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new window PubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Most comprehensive database of full-text for nursing & allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Collection of databases aimed at gathering and summarizing health research.
- Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database This link opens in a new window Evidence-based practice database with a global focus. Find systematic reviews, protocols, recommended practices, evidence summaries, best practice and consumer information sheets, and technical Reports.
- Embase This link opens in a new window Embase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings. This version has been customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles from library holdings.
- ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window This database includes journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
- ProQuest Sociology Database This link opens in a new window Full-text database of international literature of sociology and social work from 1985 to present. Topics include community and mental health, crisis intervention, family and social welfare, poverty and homelessness, addiction, and social work education.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Abstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window Abstract database of social work literature from 1977 to present. Topics include homelessness, child and family welfare, AIDs, aging, substance abuse, community organization, and more.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Interdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
