Subject Guide
Eimmy Solis
she, her, hers
Contact:
eimmysol@usc.edu
Library for International and Public Affairs, 36B
Library for International and Public Affairs, 36B
Additional California Libguides
Where do I start looking for California State Government information?
Every state organizes their legislative information independently and distributes their information via their state's official websites. For this reason, researchers have to examine each state individually. For California, the official California legislative information can be found in the link below:
- California Legislative InformationThis site includes legislative publications starting with the 2017 session and forward.
State Agencies and Resources
- USA.govLinks to state and territorial agencies and resources
- California State Agency DatabasesCreated by GODORT (Government Documents Round Table) as a resource for state information with an extensive list of state agencies, departments, and other government offices.
- State and Local Government on the NetThe State and Local Government Internet directory provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments.
- California School DirectoryThe California School Directory (Directory) contains information about California public schools, private schools (including nonpublic nonsectarian schools), school districts, and county offices of education
- California RosterA comprehensive list of contact information for California's Federal, State, County, Judicial, and incorporated city and town officials; a list of California's unicorporate areas; a list of state-level officials across the United States; and historical outlines of California constitutional offices and state emblems.
- California State Auditor Reports (2018 - Present)As the State's independent external auditor, they provide nonpartisan, accurate, and timely assessments of California government's financial and operational activities in compliance with generally accepted government auditing standards. The California State Auditor reports its findings to the Legislature, recommending actions that lead to improvement of government operations, saving the state and taxpayers millions of dollars.
Online State Government Information
- California State LibraryEstablished in 1850, the California State Library is the oldest continuously operated public library in the American West and is the central reference and research library for state government and the Legislature. The library collection includes books, journals, maps, and photographs. It has an extensive collection of documents from and about the state’s rich history and is one of the major genealogical reference libraries on the West Coast. It also holds significant collections from Mexico, the United Kingdom and Europe, with manuscripts dating back to the 13th and 14th centuries. The State Library is both a State and Federal Depository Library, providing free and open access to government information, and is a U.S. Patent and Trademark Resource Center.