News and Events from NML
Clinical References
-
The Common Symptom Guide: a guide to the evaluation of common adult and pediatric symptoms, 6th ed
Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, WB 39 C734 2009
Point of Care Reference
This guide contains many general resources used by all clinicians. The USC Libraries link in the upper-left of this page will take you back to the main catalogue if you wish to search for a particular article, title or database.
Search for pre-appraised evidence in USC Subscribed Clinical Information Summary Tools:
-
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
-
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
-
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
Other Quick Reference Tools:
-
Diagnosaurus This link opens in a new window
-
GIDEON This link opens in a new window
-
uCentral from Unbound Medicine This link opens in a new window
If you do not find the answer to your clinical question in the tools above, or within a practice guideline, expand your search to textbooks and the medical literature research databases.
Drug Databases
-
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new windowMonographs, ebooks and interactive tools covering over the counter and prescription drugs.
-
Micromedex This link opens in a new windowBrief and detailed monographs for prescription and over the counter drugs; The Red Book for drug pricing; interactive tools for interactions and compatibility; additional references on drug names, toxicology, patient education,and diseases.
-
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based monographs and clinical summaries for alternative and complementary therapies, including herbs, vitamins, dietary supplements, and integrative therapies. Includes information from Traditional Chinese Medicine, Ayurveda, and other holistic wellness systems.
Guidelines
Professional groups, non-profit organizations, and government agencies often develop guidelines and make them available freely on their websites. Search or browse groups that cover all health topics and areas like the World Health Organization, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Veterans Health Administration, or U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. Use Google to find additional groups focused on your specialty area or a specific condition.
-
ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new windowFind summaries of high-quality guidelines from state, federal, and international agencies. Requires free registration. Similar to National Guideline Clearinghouse.
-
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowPrior to searching, use the Publication Type limit of Practice Guidelines.
-
Guidelines.co.uk This link opens in a new windowSummaries of guidelines and recommendations from United Kingdom governmental agencies and European and global professional groups. Includes links to full-text of guidelines. Registration is not required to access guidelines.
-
National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) This link opens in a new windowGuidelines for United Kingdom (UK) National Health Services (NHS).
Consumer Health & Patient Education
-
Consumer Health & Patient Education GuideThis guide contains links to consumer / patient health resources for patients and health professionals. Includes links to Spanish language resources.