Market Research Reports
- Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 This link opens in a new windowContains thousands of market research reports by analyst Ernest Dichter and his Institute for Motivational Research, commissioned by advertising agencies and businesses such as Philip Morris, Chrysler, and CBS on products ranging from tobacco and broadcasting to cars and hotels. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
- Insider Intelligence (formerly known as eMarketer) This link opens in a new windowProvides analysis, market data, and statistics on the Internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
- Forrester This link opens in a new windowTechnology and market research from Forrester Research, Inc. focusing on the business implications of technology change.
- Business Insights Global This link opens in a new windowBusiness Insights: Global is a source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries. Also known as Gale Business Insights.
- IBISWorldDetailed market research and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries as well as Global Industry Reports, China Industry Reports and Business Environment Reports.
- MarketResearch.com AcademicMarket research reports from several sources covering a wide range of industries, services and products. Content includes industry interviews, competitive analysis, market trends, product innovations, buyer behavior, and market share.
- WARC This link opens in a new windowPreviously known as the World Advertising Research Center, WARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.
- Mintel Reports (Mintel Oxygen)Mintel Oxygen provides detailed market research reports in the areas of Beauty & Personal Care, Drink, Food, Leisure & Entertainment, Lifestyles, and Retailing and Apparel. Users must create a personal account and reports can only be downloaded one section at a time.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantageA comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor's independent research, data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and industries.
- SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)Sports Business Research Network provides market research and industry news for the sports industry. SBRnet's site combines market research from the largest single research supplier to the industry, the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies.
- Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new windowAnalyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily. Best for business schools and entrepreneurs.
- ISI Emerging Markets/ This link opens in a new windowISI Emerging Markets (now known as EMIS) provides coverage of emerging economies in Africa, Asia, Europe and Latin America including articles, financial statements, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information.
Company Research
- Hoovers OnlineThe world's top enterprises is at the core of our business tools and service that customers find vital to their operations. In depth company history,financial, IPO, stocks and background information available.
Also, use the Industries tab. - InvestextReports and forecasts prepared by top Wall Street and international brokerage firms More than 11,000 U.S. and international companies and 53 industries are covered.
- InvestextAnalyst reports by brokerage firms, investment banks and other organizations on over 11,000 U.S. and international companies and 53 industries. This database has been replaced by ThomsonOne.
- Mergent OnlineU.S. Company Data. An Internet-accessible subscription service covering 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings
International Company Data. More companies from more countries than any other international database, with global searching across databases. - Mergent WebReportsMergent WebReports provides online access to the Moody's/Mergent manuals. These manuals provide corporate histories, business descriptions, and information on properties, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt, financial statements and municipal debt. Years vary 1920's to present.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantageA comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor's independent research, data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and industries. Content includes detailed tock reports, company profiles, bond reports, corporation records, mutual fund reports, security dealers directory and industry surveys.
- PassportGlobal Market Information Database (GMID by Euromonitor) providesinternational company, country, industry and market information. Searchoptions include industries, countries, consumers, companies andgeographies. User has ability to download reports in Word, Excel or PDF
- Gartner This link opens in a new windowResearch from Gartner, Inc., an information technology research and advisory company. Gartner works with clients to research, analyze and interpret the business of IT.
- Orbis This link opens in a new windowUS and international company information from Bureau van Dijk including Datamonitor market research and company reports (same content as Mint Global with a different interface).
Industry
For specific industries such as travel, sports, tourism, health care, hospitality or travel and tourism check out the Industry Research guide created by the business librarians.
SWOT Analysis
Strength, Weakness, Opportunities and Threats (SWOT)
SWOT Analysis Signpost, Image courtesy of scottchan / FreeDigitalPhotos.net
The analysis of a firm’s strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats. A SWOT analysis helps evaluate how a company will perform in a competitive environment.
SWOT analysis. (2003). In Webster's new world finance and investment dictionary. Retrieved from https://libproxy.usc.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com.libproxy.usc.edu/content/entry/wileynwfid/swot_analysis/0