Search tips
Communication informatics falls into several disciplines such as; communication, business, education, technology, etc.. Here are databases to start your research looking for scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, case studies, and grey literature.
Communication Research Databases
Here are a few databases to begin your research:
- Communication SourceCommunication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
- ABI/INFORM GlobalArticles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. Available through ProQuest Articles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. Available through ProQuest
- ProQuest Research -Multiple DatabaseProQuest Multiple Databases is a multi-disciplinary index. It simultaneously searches dozens of subject areas, indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.
Engineering Databases
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database delivering full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
- Compendex This link opens in a new windowCompendexWeb is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences.
- Engineering Village 2 This link opens in a new windowSimultaneously search across 3 large engineering databases, or select a single database to search. Includes articles, patents, conference proceedings, in all areas of engineering and applied sciences.
Informatics
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA half century of pioneering concepts and fundamental research have been digitized and indexed in a variety of ways in this special collection of works published by ACM since its inception.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowAccess over 2,200 peer reviewed academic journals and selected books.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowMathSciNet is the searchable Web database providing access to over 55 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
Business Databases
- Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Business Abstracts with Full Text™ offers a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals: this comprehensive database contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications.
- Gale OneFile: Computer Science This link opens in a new windowProvides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
- ProQuest Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Telecommunications is a essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology.
- EBSCO Business Source CompleteThis database provides articles from business journals, magazines and newspapers including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly and many others.
- ProQuest Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database focuses on business and financial news from the eastern hemisphere. It covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications.
- SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new windowSAGE Business Cases is the first discipline-wide digital collection tailored to library needs. These cases bring business to life – inspiring researchers to develop their own best practices and prepare for professional success.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Emerald This link opens in a new windowArticles from key journals and books in the fields of management, information science and engineering. Most, but not all, journals and books provide full-text access.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowDatabases of resources for arts, business, humanities, social sciences, science and newspaper resources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels.
search tips
Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords, or concepts related to your topic.
Keywords
organization behavior, theory, group dynamics, externalization, explicit knowledge, theory, tacit knowledge, internal
Use AND, OR, NOT to connect your phrases/keywords
to locate both organizational behavior AND theory
to locate either word information OR knowledge
to locate (the first word) theory NOT study
* truncation symbol
organization* organization, organizations, organizational
Technology Related
- ProQuest Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Telecommunications is a essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology.
- Nikkei Telecom 21 This link opens in a new windowNikkei Telecom21 is the Japan's largest online database on business. Access to the database is limited to 1 user.
- Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new windowApplied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines.
- ISI Proceedings: Science & Technology Proceedings This link opens in a new windowAccess the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
- Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new windowEngineering Case Studies Online provides a single, comprehensive source for a wide range of video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes.