Skip to main content

Dental Online Learning Programs: Finding Library Resources

This guide is intended to support students in the Ostrow School of Dentistry's online Master and Certificate programs.

On this page...

This page demonstrates step-by-step instructions for:

  • Finding resources (books, journals, databases, etc.) in the Health Sciences Libraries catalog
  • Linking out to online resources through the Quick Links section on the homepage
  • Submitting requests for physical items or resources/articles not owned by or subscribed to by USC

Useful Subject Guides

Subject guides related to your area of study have been developed by the Wilson Dental Library. If you are looking for more specific information in your subject area please review the content linked below.

Health Sciences Libraries Catalog

THESE IMAGES WILL BE UPDATED VERY SOON TO REFLECT THE NEW LIBRARY WEBSITE. Thank you for your patience.

You can search the USC Health Sciences Libraries catalog for resources owned or subscribed to by USC. Start by visiting the Wilson Dental Library's homepage (wdl.usc.edu) and navigate to the center of the page to the search box. 

You can search keywords, book or journal titles, databases, anything you are looking for! Simply type the words into the search box and click Search.

A new tab or window will open displaying the results. You can refine the results using the filters on the left side of the page.

In the list of results you will see a summary of the resource information, including whether or not the resource is available online and/or in the Wilson Dental Library's physical collection. "Full Text Available" indicates there is only access to this resource.

To see more information about the resource, including links to online access if available, click on the title of the resource of interest.

If the resource is available electronically you will see a link under "View It"

If the resource is physically available at the Wilson Dental Library you will see the information under "Availability"

If the resource you are trying to access is only available in the library or is not owned by or subscribed to by USC, please follow the instructions for submitting a document delivery or interlibrary loan request below.

Quick Links

On the WDL homepage we have collected the most popular online resources and organized the links in the Quick Links box.

When you click on one of these links, you will be prompted to sign in with your USC credentials (detailed instructions on Home tab of this guide) before you are linked to the resource. 

A summary of key resources within the Quick Links box with pertinent access information is included below.

E-book Collections

E-book collections offer you a wide variety of books available electronically. You can access full books, chapters, and images and use portions of the text for your research and assignments by saving content and/or citing directly from the source. For more information about generating and formatting citations, please visit the Dental Problem-Based Learning Citation guide linked on the left side of this page.

The main e-book collections are: Access Medicine, Clinical Key, R2 Library, and Stat!Ref. 

Access Medicine - This e-book collection focuses on general, biomedical information. 

Clinical Key - This resource has e-books, journal articles, images, and other content related to the biomedical sciences. Note: you must create an account using your USC credentials to download content from Clinical Key. 

R2 Library - This e-book collection has decent coverage of dental topics. 

Stat!Ref - This e-book collection has excellent coverage of dental topics in addition to offering test prep and other reference information. 

Databases

PubMed @USC - PubMed is the premier biomedical database produced by the National Library of Medicine. You can search across the millions of records in this database to find scholarly articles related to biomedicine and health. More information can be found on the next tab in this guide labeled "PubMed@USC".

Scopus - In addition to biomedical sciences this database covers topics related to mathematics, social sciences, engineering, technology, and the arts & humanities. In addition to articles, you can also access citation information including how many times an article or author was cited and by whom. 

Drug Information, Patient Care, and Other Resources

Lexicomp for DEN - This is a drug information resource that will inform you about interactions, toxicology, calculators and more. A special section is included with information pertinent to dental care.

UpToDate - This clinical support resource provides evidence-based medical subject synopses authored by subject experts to assist with point-of-care decisions.

VisualDX - This visual resource is a powerful tool for building a differential diagnosis, and learning more generally about symptoms, medications, and diagnoses. 

Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan

Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan services are freely available for Distance Learners. Fees are only charged for rush orders and the return shipping of borrowed books.

To submit interlibrary loan requests for resources or articles not owned by or subscribed to by USC or to request a book or article from the library's collection you will first need to create a DocRetriever account. DocRetriever is our system for processing these requests and it is free for you to register and use.

To register for an account, visit the Wilson Dental Library's Homepage and click on the DocRetriever link. 

If you are a first time user, click on the Register button. 

After you have created an account you can logon to the request system on this page, or when you encounter a page in our Health Sciences Library Catalog that states we do not have access to an item or article (example below). 

Article Delivery Timeframe 

Articles are typically delivered electronically within 2-3 business days.

If you need your request processed more quickly you can mark the request "Rush" and pay a $5 processing fee. 

Book Delivery Timeframe

Books from the library's collection will be delivered about one week after the request is submitted. You will be responsible for the return shipping cost.