search tips
Communication Data Management falls into several disciplines such as; communication, business, education, technology, etc.. Here are databases to start your research looking for scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, case studies, and grey literature. Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords, or concepts related to your topic.
Keywords
organization behavior, theory, group dynamics, externalization, explicit knowledge, theory, tacit knowledge, internal
Use AND, OR, NOT to connect your phrases/keywords
to locate both organizational behavior AND theory
to locate either word information OR knowledge
to locate (the first word) theory NOT study
* truncation symbol
organization* organization, organizations, organizational
Communication Research Databases
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from peer-reviewed journals and trade magazines covering mass media, marketing, communications, and related topics.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowBusiness information, including journals, newspapers, magazines, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. Covers 1971-present. Includes US and international information.
Here are a few databases to begin your research:
- ProQuest Research -Multiple DatabaseProQuest Multiple Databases is a multi-disciplinary index. It simultaneously searches dozens of subject areas, indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.
Engineering Databases
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database delivering full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
- Compendex This link opens in a new windowEngineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conference.
- Engineering Village 2 This link opens in a new windowEi CompendexWeb is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences.
Technology Related
- ProQuest Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Telecommunications is a essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology.
- Nikkei Telecom 21 This link opens in a new windowNikkei Telecom21 is the Japan's largest online database on business. Access to the database is limited to 1 user.
- Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new windowApplied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
Business Databases
- Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Business Abstracts with Full Text™ offers a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals: this comprehensive database contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications.
- EBSCO Business Source CompleteThis database provides articles from business journals, magazines and newspapers including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly and many others.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Emerald This link opens in a new windowArticles from key journals and books in the fields of management, information science and engineering. Most, but not all, journals and books provide full-text access.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSimultaneously searches dozens of subject areas, indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles, and provides full-text articles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels.
Math related
- e-Contemporary Mathematics This link opens in a new windowThis series of refereed proceedings is written by recognized experts in their fields and maintains high scientific standards. Volumes are draw from worldwide conferences and symposia sponsored by the American Mathematical Society and other organizations.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowMathematical Reviews provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research
Informatics
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA half century of pioneering concepts and fundamental research have been digitized and indexed in a variety of ways in this special collection of works published by ACM since its inception.The ACM Digital Library includes bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and full texts.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowAccess over 2,200 peer reviewed academic journals and selected books.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowMathSciNet is the searchable Web database providing access to over 55 years of Mathematical Reviews.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) provides citations covering over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.
Psychology Databases
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
- ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new windowCoverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.