Topic Tips
When possible use the Advance Search feature
use " " to search for concepts or phrases
" training programs" AND "employee retention and success
use truncation symbol *
Truncate a root word such as plan to get all forms of the word, i.e. advert* will retrieve: advertising, advertisements, advertise, advertises
use synonyms related to your topic:
Search Tips
Once you have identified your Speech topic generate a list of words, or Keywords that are related to your topic.
Use AND, OR, NOT to connect your phrases/keywords
to locate both smartphones AND consumers
to locate either word apps OR applications
NOT will retrieve the first word, content NOT source
types of resources:
trade publications
case studies
government reports
scholarly articles
newspapers
books
book chapters
Databases
Here are a few databases to begin your research:
- Communication SourceCommunication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
- ProQuest Research -Multiple DatabaseProQuest Multiple Databases is a multi-disciplinary index suitable for both undergraduates and graduate students. It simultaneously searches dozens of subject areas, indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles, and provides full-text for a significant number of the articles included from a variety of contemporary research databases. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.
- ABI/INFORM GlobalArticles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. Available through ProQuest Articles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. Available through ProQuest
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition™ contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database for cross-disciplinary work.
- EBSCO Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database provides articles from business journals, magazines and newspapers including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly and many others.
- Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Business Abstracts with Full Text™ offers a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals: this comprehensive database contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications dating back to 1995, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.
- Wiley OnlineProvides access to over 2,000 peer reviewed academic journals and over150 ebooks.
- Emerald This link opens in a new windowArticles from key journals and books in the fields of management, information science and engineering. Most, but not all, journals and books provide full-text access.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFilm & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research.
Databases
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences.
- PsycINFOJournal articles, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields.
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowPsycArticles is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
- PsycTESTS This link opens in a new windowPsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development. Records also discuss reliability and validity of the tool. Some records include full-text of the test.
- PAIS InternationalPublic affairs database.
- IEEE XploreA comprehensive database deliving full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
- IBISWorldDetailed market research and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries as well as Global Industry Reports, China Industry Reports and Business Environment Reports.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science (a.k.a. Web of Knowledge): Provides citations covering over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- WARCWARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.
- eMarketereMarketer provides analysis, market data, and statistics on the Internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowThe Passport/GMID (Global Market Information Database) by Euromonitor provides a wide range of consumer market and industry information in more than 80 countries around the world.