Skip to main content

Impact Factors and Citation Analysis: Article Impact/Citation Analysis

Adapted from Impact Factors and Citation Analysis, Robert W. Woodruff Library, Emory University; used by permission.

Tracking citations to published works

Citations can be tracked through the following databases:

Google Scholar (free)

  • Includes multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. 
  • Search for a particular work, then click on Cited by (number)

Web of Knowledge (Web of Science)

  • Includes journal articles (in Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Index databases), conference proceedings (in Conference Proceedings Citation Index), and books (in Book Citation Index database).
  • Use Cited Reference Search to see how many times a particular work or author has been cited.
  • Or, search for a particular work, then click on the number that follows Times Cited
  • Create a Citation Alert to be notified of when a particular work is cited.

ScienceDirect 

  • Includes journal articles in medicine, science, some social sciences, and some humanities. 
  • Search for a particular article, then locate Cited by in the right-hand column. 

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) (first-time users must register)

  • Includes journal articles, conference proceedings, and books in chemistry and related sciences. 
  • Search for a particular topic or author. Select the desired topic/author, then click Get References. Select a particular title, then click Get Citing.

Journals@Ovid Medline

  • Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
  • Information is indexed from approximately 3,900 journals published world-wide.
  • Search for a particular article, then click Find Citing Articles.  

 

Citation tracking

Tracking citations using Web of Science

More information