Research Guides: Review Articles (Health Sciences): Select databases to search

PubMed is a common starting database for health sciences literature reviews, and for some projects, will provide enough journal articles.

Databases index journals and no database includes all journals in all subject areas. If you are unable to find relevant materials in PubMed or, your question focuses on specific aspects of health sciences, you may want to use another database in addition to PubMed. See common sources for health sciences-related questions below; review the A-Z list of databases to see more; or ask a librarian.

PubMed@USC This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings. This version has been customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles from library holdings.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive database of full-text for nursing & allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Life sciences and biomedical research database covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.