Finding reviews in article databases
Most library-licensed, subject-specific article databases include a limit or filter for "reviews" visible on the search results screen. This will limit your results to articles that journals consider reviews.These might be systematic reviews, literature reviews, or other types of reviews. Examine each article carefully to determine the processes used by the authors and determine which type of review you are using.
The databases below each include a review filter. Examine a research guide for your subject area to find additional subject-specific databases.
- Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new windowLife sciences and biomedical research database covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive database of full-text for nursing & allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings. This version has been customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles from library holdings.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
- Research GuidesSubject listing of all USC Library Research Guides.
Specialized Review Databases
These databases only include specific kinds of review articles.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowProvides literature review articles on many areas of sciences (including clinical health sciences) and social sciences.
- Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based clinical practice database; includes systematic reviews and evidence summaries as well as additional publication types.