Free Resources (for Health Sciences)

Offers assessment tools, culture/language specific information, disease/condition specific information, information on specific populations and more.

Part of the National Library of Medicine, this index page provides access to information, including statistics, on a variety of population groups

SAMHSA, an agency in the Department of Health and Human Services, is the Federal Government's lead agency for improving the quality and availability of substance abuse prevention, addiction treatment, and mental health services in the United States.

Part of the Office of Minority Health site, this page provides links to outside statistical information and publications of the OMH.

A service of the National Alliance for Hispanic Health, the “Health News” section provides links to current research on ethnic health issues, including many statistical resources.

Part of the National Library of Medicine, this index page provides access to information, including statistics, on a variety of population groups

This document is Number 23 of the Healthy People 2000 Statistical Notes series. In addition to providing health statistics for five ethnic populations, it provides links to information sources.

Use Fusion Tables (in Google Drive) to create maps from tables of data. Make your own tables or use existing data tables.

If you are a currently enrolled USC student (undergraduate, masters, or doctoral) with a valid student ID, you can obtain a free one-year student trial license of Esri’s ArcGIS for Desktop Advanced and/or an account for one of the ArcGIS Online subscriptions supported by USC.

USC students are also eligible for selected versions of Esri software. Contact the Spatial Sciences Institute for details.

Report of the U.S. Dept of Health & Human Services, and U.S. Dept of Commerce.

Provided by the Administration on Aging, this site is an extensive list of links to age-related health and demographic statistics on both the national and state level.

Includes publications, news, and data related to age and aging from the U.S. Census Bureau

U.S. Census Bureau - Detailed information and statistics on population aging and the older population are critical for understanding the impact on society and the economy and to inform policies and programs.

Provided by the Administration on Aging, this page provides a summary of demographic and health information.

This is a brief fact sheet on children’s health offered by FastStats. For more in-depth health statistics, see the sections on “Summary Health Statistics for U.S. Children: National Health Interview Survey” and “America’s Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being 2001.”

Part of the National Center for Health Statistics site, this page provides links to statistical information on the topics of breastfeading, infant mortality, low birthweight and prenatal care.