International Level
- European Health for All group databases This link opens in a new windowCentral database of health related statistics in the European Region. Covers basic demographics, health status, health determinants and risk factors, as well as health care resources, and expenditures. Includes data visualization and interactive online tools.
- United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF): Publications This link opens in a new windowUNICEF-generated publications focused on the health and well being of children. Includes advocacy reports, annual reports, flagship, publications for children or special populations, etc.
- United Nations Statistics Division This link opens in a new windowFind national statistics on a wide-range of topic areass, including but not limited to demographic, social, economic, environmental, gender, and generational data.
- World Health Organization Country Statistics This link opens in a new windowHealth data and statistics for each country.
- World Health Organization Global Health Observatory This link opens in a new windowHealth-related statistics on an international level. Data is organized around health status and health quality indicators in relation to the World Health Organization's sustainable development and universal health coverage goals.
State Level
- America's Health RankingsAmerica’s Health Rankings provides an annual analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis and ranking of the healthiest and least healthy states. Browse by State and by Measure. The 2009 Rankings reveal the overall health of the U.S. population has not improved for the fifth year in a row.
- California Health and Human Services Open Data PortalCHHS has launched its Open Data Portal initiative in order to increase public access to non-confidential health and human services data.
- California Health Interview Survey (CHIS) This link opens in a new windowData from state-wide telephone based health survey. Topics include health, housing, access to care, employment, insurance, food environment, etc. Access requires free AskCHIS account.
- California Vital Statistics Data TablesOfficial source of demographic planning for State planning & budgeting.
- State Data Center Clearinghouse This link opens in a new windowResources, information, products, and links to facilitate effectiveness of partnership between state data centers and the United States Census Bureau to provide efficient access to census data.
- County Health Rankings This link opens in a new windowConstructed as a snapshot to identify health issues at the county level.
- Disease Trends: State and Local Health StatisticsPart of the Centers for Disease Control, this site allows you to search the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report for information on a specific state, as well as New York City, the District of Columbia and certain U.S. territories.
- RAND State Statistics (current) This link opens in a new windowContains nearly 200 Social Science databases covering all 50 U.S. states. The California (CA) collection contains these 200 U.S. databases, plus about 80 detailed databases on California. The Texas (TX) collection contains these 200 U.S. databases, plus about 60 detailed databases on Texas.
- U.S. Census Bureau: State and County QuickFacts This link opens in a new windowProvides summary statistics at the state and county level of census data related to demographics, education, economics, etc. Good for finding basic information about a specific city or state.
- State Health Facts Online This link opens in a new windowKaiser Family Foundation site providing information on a number of health and demographic indicators in the United States. Browse by category or by location.
- California Department of Health Care Access and Information: Data and Reports This link opens in a new windowData sets and products from reports submitted by individual licensed healthcare facilities. This government agency was formerly known as OSHPD (Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development).
National Level (United States)
- data.census.gov This link opens in a new windowData from the decennial Census and the American Community Survey about households, education, income, homeownership, business, and more.
- DATA2010 This link opens in a new windowSearch data collected under the HealthyPeople2010 initiative with 427 objectives. National data with some information available at the state level.
- FastStats This link opens in a new windowWebsite providing quick access to statistics related to topics of importance to public health. Statistics created by U.S. government and state agencies. Website maintained by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics.
- Health, United States (2015) This link opens in a new windowLatest edition of annual report on trends in health statistics published by the National Center for Health Statistics.
- Healthy People 2030Healthy People provides 10-year, measurable public health objectives — and tools to help track progress toward achieving them. Search the Objectives and Data database.
County and City Level
- data.census.gov This link opens in a new windowData from the decennial Census and the American Community Survey about households, education, income, homeownership, business, and more.
- California Vital Statistics Data TablesOfficial source of demographic planning for State planning & budgeting.
- Center for Health Statistics Vital Statistics Query SystemProvided by the California Department of Health Services, this site provides vital statistics for the state of California on a county level.
- County Health Rankings This link opens in a new windowConstructed as a snapshot to identify health issues at the county level.
- Los Angeles County Department of Public Health This link opens in a new window"Online access to reports, publications, and statistics related to public health in Los Angeles County. Instructions for obtaining birth and death certificates and finding health clinics."
- RAND State Statistics (current) This link opens in a new windowContains nearly 200 Social Science databases covering all 50 U.S. states. The California (CA) collection contains these 200 U.S. databases, plus about 80 detailed databases on California. The Texas (TX) collection contains these 200 U.S. databases, plus about 60 detailed databases on Texas.
- U.S. Census Bureau: State and County QuickFacts This link opens in a new windowProvides summary statistics at the state and county level of census data related to demographics, education, economics, etc. Good for finding basic information about a specific city or state.
Mapping Software
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowAllows users to visually display demographic data in the U.S. from 1790-present at a variety of geographic levels, createreports, maps and animations that can be downloaded.
- Google Fusion TablesUse Fusion Tables (in Google Drive) to create maps from tables of data. Make your own tables or use existing data tables.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowInteractive mapping tool for viewing and creating maps displaying economic, health, and social data.
- ArcGIS for DesktopIf you are a currently enrolled USC student (undergraduate, masters, or doctoral) with a valid student ID, you can obtain a free one-year student trial license of Esri’s ArcGIS for Desktop Advanced and/or an account for one of the ArcGIS Online subscriptions supported by USC.
- ArcGIS and Esri software for students from Spatial Sciences InstituteUSC students are also eligible for selected versions of Esri software. Contact the Spatial Sciences Institute for details.