Chemistry Literature Databases
These databases provide access to peer-reviewed journal articles on chemistry, chemical structures, and experimental and theoretically-derived tables of standards and properties for chemicals and drugs.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowArticles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Requires separate login. Go to USC's create an account page to register.
- PubChem This link opens in a new windowRepository of chemical data focusing on biological activities of small molecules. Find physical, biological, and chemical properties, and relationships to health and disease.
- DrugBank This link opens in a new window
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowFind data and full-text articles and patents on chemicals and chemical compounds, including properties, reactions, and structures.
Drug Information
These are quick sources of drug monographs (information about using a drug therapeutically, including dosages, adverse effects, etc.). See the Drug Information Resources tab for more sources of drug monographs and additional drug-related information.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowPharmacology information. May only be used for educational purposes by health sciences faculty, students and staff.
- UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new windowMonographs, ebooks and interactive tools covering over the counter and prescription drugs.
Additional databases
These databases are unique products that do not fit into any one category, but are relevant for study and research in pharmaceutical and pharmacological topics.
- U.S. Patent and Trademark Office This link opens in a new windowThis office reviews and approves United States patent and trademark applications. Find the full text of patents from 1790-present and trademarks from 1940-present. Find information how to apply for a patent or trademark, and regulations.
- DrugBank This link opens in a new window
- Drug Industry Document Archive (DIDA) This link opens in a new windowHouses documents (legal reports, presentation files, emails, memos, etc.) from the pharmaceutical industry, regulatory agencies, universities, and funding agencies regarding drug and pharmacy-related lawsuits. Hosted by the University of California San Francisco.
- ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new windowRegistry and results database; includes information about publicly & privately funded studies including; completed & ongoing trials, research design, results, and contact information.
- Protein Data Bank (PDB) This link opens in a new windowA repository of 3D and 2D structure data of biomolecules, proteins, and nucleic acids.
- Google Patents This link opens in a new windowSearch US Patent Office applications, European Union patent applications, and Japanese patent applications using Google's search structures. Search US Patent office data using Google search techniques. Includes searchable full-text of US patents from 1790.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- NIH RePORTer - Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools This link opens in a new windowResource dedicated to providing access to reports, data, and analysis of NIH funded research.
Find more databases
Don't see what you need? Search for other databases or contact the library.
- Databases licensed by USC Libraries This link opens in a new windowA-Z list of all databases licensed by USC Libraries.
Biology literature databases
These databases provide access to peer-reviewed journal articles in biology.
- Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new windowLife sciences and biomedical research database covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCoverage of major journals in all scientific disciplines.
- OMIMContinuous updated catalog of human genes, genetic traits, and hereditary disorders.
Clinical Health Sciences Literature Databases
These databases provide access to peer-reviewed journal articles in the health sciences.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowWorldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and practice literature. Includes coverage of drug development, pharmacoeconomics, toxicity, regulation, and technology.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFiltered Google Search finding scholarly journal articles, books, citations, and case law.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings. This version has been customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles from library holdings.
Herbal Databases
These databases provide access to journal articles, popular press articles, scientific study results, and lists of ingredients for herbal preparations.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based reviews of alternative and complementary therapies.
Check out the Natural Standard demonstration video for help using this database. - Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical Databases This link opens in a new windowProvides chemical composition data and common medicinal uses of plants across the world.
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database (DSLD) This link opens in a new windowThe Dietary Supplements Labels Database offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements.
Dissertations and Theses
Dissertations and theses are major sources of information. Need to find USC theses or dissertations from USC and other Universities? Check out the USC Libraries' Dissertations Guide.