ICM Resources
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by
Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle. UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations. UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter. Lippincott® Connect features: Full access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, such as interactive diagrams, audio and video tutorials, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
ISBN: 9781496398178Publication Date: 2020-08-26
Degowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11th Edition by ISBN: 1260134881
The Elements of Style by Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, Z 253 S927e 2000ISBN: 9780205309023Publication Date: 1999-07-23
Principles and Practice of Case-Based Clinical Reasoning Education by ISBN: 9783319878829Publication Date: 2018-08-29
Stedman's Medical DictionaryISBN: 0781733901
- Case Files Collection
Complete collection of Toy Case files, covering all disciplines. Includes interactive questions at the end of each case. Must create free personal account to access questions.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination 5th ed.Publication Date: 2013Featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
- GIDEON This link opens in a new windowDatabase for diagnosing infectious diseases. Includes differential diagnosis tool, current information on disease outbreaks, and epidemiological data.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowConsumer health information. This US-government-produced website provides free medical information and is written for a non-professional audience. Also available entirely in Spanish.
- Primal Pictures This link opens in a new windowA dynamic interactive multimedia overview of human anatomy featuring three-dimensional animations, dissections and MRI. May be used with Internet Explorer, Firefox, Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, and Safari.
- Visible Body This link opens in a new windowAn interactive 3d anatomy tool for the study and review of human anatomy and function. This tool is broken down into different applications: Anatomy and Physiology, Human Anatomy Atlas, Anatomy and Function, Muscle Premium, Skeleton Premium, Physiology Animations, and Heart & Circulatory.
- ACC CardioSource Plus This link opens in a new windowFree registration is required to access all content.
1. Use this link to go to USC Libraries' subscription to Cardiosource Plus for Institutions.
2. After logging in with your USC NetID and password, you will be prompted to log in to the ACC.org website.
3. Users that have an existing personal ACC.org account can login with their existing credentials and access the modules.
If you have not previously made an account, use the “Create Free Account” command under the login form to make a personal username and password.
4. After signing in with your personal ACC.org account, you will see the courses currently included in this subscription and can launch the course.
All users MUST login with their USC NetID via the Ovid interface before logging in to their personal ACC.org account, in order to access the materials licensed by the USC Libraries.
Heart and Lung Sounds
Audio content is difficult to find in library-licensed resources. Examine the search box below for tips for finding audio clips.
- Auscultation ClassroomHeart sounds from AccessMedicine.
- Heart Songs"The Heart Songs audio product is designed specifically to help you learn in the way that your brain processes auditory information so you can quickly and easily master basic, intermediate, and complex heart sounds." Includes streaming and downloadable audio.
1. Use this link to go to USC Libraries' subscription to Cardiosource Plus for Institutions.
2. After logging in with your USC NetID and password, you will be prompted to log in to the ACC.org website.
3. Users that have an existing personal ACC.org account can login with their existing credentials and access the modules.
If you have not previously made an account, use the “Create Free Account” command under the login form to make a personal username and password.
4. After signing in with your personal ACC.org account, you will see all courses available through this subscription, including Heart Songs, Click the Heart Songs link to launch the course. - Practical Clinical SkillsFree website with a variety of heart and lung sounds
- Pulmonary Breath SoundsNorthern Arizona University Physical Therapy