Pharmaceutics Databases
These databases provide access to pharmaceutical information about chemicals and drugs, including standards and nomenclature. Also see the Research resources page of this guide.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowFind data and full-text articles and patents on chemicals and chemical compounds, including properties, reactions, and structures.
- DrugBank This link opens in a new windowCombines chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical data with comprehensive drug targeting information.
- PubChem This link opens in a new windowRepository of chemical data focusing on biological activities of small molecules. Find physical, biological, and chemical properties, and relationships to health and disease.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowArticles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Requires separate login. Go to USC's create an account page to register.
Pharmaceutics Books and eBooks
Chemical Stability of Pharmaceuticals: A Handbook for Pharmacists by Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, QV 754 C752c 1986ISBN: 047187955X- Clarke's Analysis of Drugs and Poisons, Fourth EditionCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 25 C611 2011Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Molecular PharmacologyPublication Date: 2021- Handbook of Pharmaceutical ExcipientsCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, QV 735 H236 2012Publication Date: 2012
The Merck IndexCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 13 M555 2013
Physicochemical Principles of PharmacyCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, QV 744 F632p 2011ISBN: 9780853699842Online access to 6th edition.
Print edition is 5th edition.
Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations, 5eISBN: 9781582121673
Pharmacology Databases
These databases include articles and summaries describing the actions of drugs. Also see the Research resources page of this guide.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new windowLife sciences and biomedical research database covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
- Facts and Comparisons E-Answers This link opens in a new windowConstantly updated drug monographs for prescription and over-the-counter drugs; drug interaction checker. Includes additional handbooks on specific aspects of drugs, such as Review of Natural Products.
- Clinical Pharmacology (Clinical Key interface)This database is purchased by the School of Pharmacy. Affiliates of the school may use the USC VPN to access this; or, find instructions for creating a personal username and password at the School of Pharmacy's Intranet.
Pharmacology Books and eBooks
Applied Biopharmaceutics and Pharmacokinetics by Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, QV 38 A652 2016
Applied Clinical Pharmacokinetics 3/eCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 38 B344a 2014ISBN: 9780071794589
Casarett and Doull's Essentials of Toxicology, 3rd edCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 600 C3349 2015- Clinical pharmacokinetics handbook, 1st edPublication Date: 2006Think of this as the pocket version of Applied Clinical Pharmacokinetics. It features easy access to conversion tables and other standard information for the practicing clinician.
Evidence-Based Pharmacotherapy: Optimal Patient Care = Best Knowledge + Competent PractitionerCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 704 C541e 2007
