Mendeley
Go to the Mendeley page at https://www.mendeley.com
For more information on Mendeley check out the Mendeley Research Guide
Content on this guide was originally created by Kellen Maluski and licensed by Sarah Lawrence College under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License and adapted here for SWMS 410
Mendeley provides the ability to save references from most library catalogs (including USC's) and databases by RIS Files
Additional ways to import:
After downloading the Web Importer you can add resources from databases and webpages to Mendeley.
Keep in mind that if a resource requires a subscription for access, Mendeley will only import the citation and not the full text.
Watch the Mendeley Minute on this page for details on dragging and dropping PDFs into Mendeley.
It's easy to create a bibliography from your Mendeley library.
Mendeley offers word processing plugins for Word. The plugin adds a Mendeley toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.
To add a citation, click the first button ("Insert Citation") on the toolbar. Search for the reference you want to cite and press Enter. Mendeley will add the citation at your cursor.
At the end of your paper, click the third button ("Insert Bibliography"). Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the last button on the toolbar ("Set Doc Prefs").
Sync Your Library: If you're regularly using more than one computer in your research, Mendeley sync feature can keep your library up to date on all of them.
Adding PDF's
- Drag and drop a PDF directly into your Mendeley Desktop display
- Drag and drop a file of PDFs directly into your Mendeley Desktop display
- Create a watched folder
- What is a watched folder?
-
- You pick a folder on your desktop to save PDFs into
- Mendeley automatically imports those PDFs once they are saved
On a PC:
Go to your Mendeley Desktop and:
- Click Tools → Options → Watched Folders
- Check box(es) next to the Folder(s) that you wish to have watched
On a Mac:
Go to your Mendeley Desktop and:
- Click Preferences → Watched Folders
- Check box(es) next to the Folder(s) that you wish to have watched
- Add a PDF to an existing citation
- Double click (open) the record you wish to add the PDF to
- Under Files, in the record, select Add File
- Browse, select the file, and double click to add
Watch the Mendeley Minute on this page for details on dragging and dropping PDFs into Mendeley.
RefWorks
RefWorks is a Web-based citation manager that allows you to import references from text files, web sites or online databases. You can use RefWorks to format a paper and a bibliography in seconds. (First time users will use your USC email to create an account).
Checkout the RefWorks LibGuide for more information