Research Guides: CMGT 556: Global Marketing Communication: Databases

Search Tips

When possible use the Advance Search feature

use " quotation marks " to group concepts "consumer attitudes" and spending

limit time frame: When items were published

2005-2015

use truncation symbol *

Truncate a root word such as plan to get all forms of the word, i.e. plan* will retrieve plan, plans, planning and planned

Communication Research Databases

EBSCO Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides articles from business journals, magazines and newspapers including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly and many others.

Here are a few databases to begin your research:

EBSCOhost Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings
This comprehensive database contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications dating back to 1995, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more. Part of the OmniFile collection.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
thnic NewsWatch now includes two collections: 1) Ethnic NewsWatch, a current collection (1990-present) of newspapers,magazines and journals from ethnic and minority presses. The publications offer both national and regional coverage.
The publications offer both national and regional coverage. 2) Ethnic NewsWatch: A History(1959-1989), which includes over 30 full-text newspapers, magazines and journals, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989.
SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
These cases bring business to life – inspiring researchers to develop their own best practices and prepare for professional success.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from peer-reviewed journals and trade magazines covering mass media, marketing, communications, and related topics.

ProQuest Research -Multiple Database
ProQuest Multiple Databases is a multi-disciplinary index suitable for both undergraduates and graduate students. It simultaneously searches dozens of subject areas, indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles, and provides full-text for a significant number of the articles included from a variety of contemporary research databases. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.

SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
interdisciplinary coverage is unparalleled, spanning subject areas including business; humanities; social sciences; science, technology, medicine; and many more.
China-Latin America Finance Database This link opens in a new window
The Inter-American Dialogue's new online China-Latin America Finance Database is the most up-to-date source of information on Chinese lending activity in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Based on original findings from the Dialogue report "The New Banks in Town: China Finance in Latin America," the database includes upwards of $87 billion in loan commitments to Latin American and Caribbean countries, searchable by country, lender, sector and year. Chinese lending to the region reached an all time high of $37 billion in 2010 -- more than World Bank, Inter-American Development Bank, and U.S. Export-Import Bank lending combined.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts, and much full-text coverage for performing arts periodicals since 1864.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research.
It is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 350 publications (and selected coverage of nearly 300), as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Business information, including journals, newspapers, magazines, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. Covers 1971-present. Includes US and international information.

Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences...

ProQuest Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Telecommunications is a essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology.
The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text. Whether youÂre looking for the latest news on WAP technology, following market penetration of new technologies, or gathering information about the key players in this field, ProQuest Telecommunications helps you stay one step ahead.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
The gateway to Taylor & Francis e-journals.
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism This link opens in a new window
Discover well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access over 2,200 peer reviewed academic journals and selected books.