Research Guides: JOUR 201: Culture of Journalism: Past, Present and Future: Historical newspaper titles

Search tips

group concepts use AND, OR, NOT

suffragette AND voting

to locate either word strike OR boycott

to locate relocation NOT ~~interment~~

Use specific dates in the Advace Search

Single-Title Historical American Newspapers Online from Proquest

For more newspaper titles please refer to your handout for a complete listing of newspapers.

Historical Los Angeles Times
The Los Angeles Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (Dec. 4, 1881). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue
Historical New York Times
Covers 1851-2000.
Historical Los Angeles Sentinel
The Historic Los Angeles Sentinel provides full-text access to the most important African-American newspaper published in Los Angeles, from its founding in 1934 through 2005.
Historical Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (July 8, 1889). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.Covers 1889-1988.
Historical Atlanta Daily-World
Atlanta Daily World offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue, beginning December 1931.Covers 1931-2003.
Historical Washington Post
Covers 1877-1990.
Historical Pittsburgh Courier
https://libproxy.usc.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com.libproxy.usc.edu/hnppittsburghcourier/news/fromDatabasesLayer?accountid=14749Covers 1911-2002.
San Francisco Chronicle (Historical) 1865-1922
Historical Boston Globe
The Boston Globe offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (March 4, 1872). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical Chicago Defender
Robert Sengstacke Abbott founded the Defender in May 1905, and by the outbreak of the First World War it had become the most widely-read African American newspaper in the country, with more than two thirds of its readership based outside Chicago. When Abbott died in 1940, his nephew John Sengstacke became editor and publisher of the Defender, which began publishing on a daily basis in 1956.Covers 1910-1975.
Historical Chicago Tribune
The Chicago Tribune offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (April 23, 1849). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.Covers 1849-1986.
Historical Christian Science Monitor
The Christian Science Monitor offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (Nov. 25, 1908). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)
The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical Hartford Courant
The Hartford Courant offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue (May 24, 1764). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical New York Amsterdam News
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.Covers 1922-1993.
Variety
Variety (Archive: 1905-2000)

Historical Magazines

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement has been digitized to the highest standard, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by designer and brand names.
Life Magazine This link opens in a new window
The entire run of the preeminent U.S. photojournal, Life Magazine, has now been digitized and indexed.
It was published weekly from 1936 to 1972, and covered all aspects of American life, as well as important overseas events. Many important photographers, such as Margaret Bourke-White, Karsh, and Gordon Parks, contributed images, some of which have since become icons. Search is by keyword only.
Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991 This link opens in a new window
This digital archive includes the complete 62-year run of BBC's periodical which was the intellectual counterpart to BBC's magazine, Radio Times.
Developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks â initially on radio, but in later years television as well - The Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of early BBC broadcasts. As well as commenting on and expanding on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, The Listener also previewed major literary and musical programs and regularly reviewed new books.
Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published weekly by Time Inc., the magazine has focused on conveying to a broad audience both domestic and international news and analysis on a spectrum of subjects.
Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957 This link opens in a new window
Contains every issue (1938-1957) of the pioneering photo-journalism newspaper that was read by an estimated 80% of the British population at its peak.
Harper's Weekly 1857-1912 This link opens in a new window
The HarpWeek Database contains scanned images of Harper's Weekly, a prominent 19th- and 20th-century American magazine that began publication in 1857.
Harper's was aimed at the middle and upper socio-economic classes, and tried not to print anything that it considered unfit for the entire family to read. In addition to the importance of illustrations and cartoons by artists like Winslow Homer and Thomas Nast, the paper's editorials played a significant role in shaping and reflecting public opinion from the start of the Civil War to the end of the century. The database currently has all issues from 1857-1912, covering the Civil War, Reconstruction, and Gilded Age periods
Harper's Bazaar Archive‎ (1867 - current) This link opens in a new window
Full color digital scans of all issues, from cover to cover. Supports academic research in a range of fields, including: gender studies, fashion, marketing, advertising, consumerism, material culture, design and more.