Environmental Science *: Energy

Bioenergy with Carbon Capture and Storage: Using Natural Resources for Sustainable Development presents the technologies associated with bioenergy and CCS and its applicability as an emissions reduction tool. The book explores existing climate policies and current carbon capture and storage technologies. Sections offer an overview of several routes to use biomass and produce bioenergy through processes with low or even negative CO2 emissions. Associated technology and the results of recent research studies to improve the sustainability of the processes are described, pointing out future trends and needs. This book can be used by bioenergy engineering researchers in industry and academia and by professionals and researchers in carbon capture and storage.

Distributed Energy Resources in Microgrids: Integration, Challenges and Optimization unifies classically unconnected aspects of microgrids by considering them alongside economic analysis and stability testing. In addition, the book presents well-founded mathematical analyses on how to technically and economically optimize microgrids via distributed energy resource integration. Researchers and engineers in the power and energy sector will find this information useful for combined scientific and economical approaches to microgrid integration.

The Fossil Fuel Revolution: Shale Gas and Tight Oil describes the remarkable new energy resources being obtained from shale gas and tight oil through a combination of directional drilling and staged hydraulic fracturing, opening up substantial new energy reserves for the 21st Century. The book includes the history of shale gas development, the technology used to economically recover hydrocarbons, and descriptions of the ten primary shale gas resources of the United States. International shale resources, environmental concerns, and policy issues are also addressed. This book is intended as a reference on shale gas and tight oil for industry members, undergraduate and graduate students, engineers and geoscientists.

Transport and Energy Research: A Behavioral Perspective deals with the transport issues associated with energy from a behavioral perspective in an interdisciplinary and systematic way. Existing transport and energy research has focused on technologies and energy efficiency; however, more efficient technologies do not necessarily lead to energy reduction. Unfortunately, very limited behavioral research can be found in the literature. This book covers major transport modes in major countries. It emphasizes the importance of researching the behaviors of not only transport and energy service users, but also transport and energy service providers, policy makers, organizations, company managers, and other stakeholders who are involved in and/or affected by transport and energy policies. It not only overviews the history of relevant research and presents new developments but also extensively discusses the future research issues. Various findings are summarized for reducing energy consumption from a behavioral perspective. This book provides readers with behavioral insights into more effective policymaking. Behavioral interventions are recommended as a key policy instrument for reducing energy consumption in a sustainable way. It provides policy makers with comprehensive insights into making more effective policies over the whole process of policymaking. The book can serve as a handbook for researchers and a textbook for graduate students in the fields of transport, energy, environment, planning, public policy, behavioral studies, and so on.

Renewable energy (RE) is a subject of great interest today. It is one of the two main means for implementing climate change mitigation programmes, and presently the only perceived means for replacing the declining global fossil fuel reserves. It also helps fight poverty and assists in the global quest for gender equity by taking clean energy where it is needed most for development. It is perhaps not surprising therefore that there is so much coverage of RE in both the conventional media and the internet by media and tech writers, economists and bloggers, many of who only have a partial understanding of the technology itself. The end result is mostly promotional rhetoric that says little about the true value of the technology, and leads to a confused picture for the serious individual or decision-maker who wants to know what the technology is really capable of doing. This book provides a clear and factual picture of the status of RE and its capabilities today. The need for such a book was first realized by the author when he was engaged in a renewable energy capacity-building project encompassing countries from Europe, the Caribbean, Africa, and the Pacific. The book is largely non-technical in nature; it does however contain enough mention of the science and technology to enable readers to go further with their own investigations should they wish to. The book covers all areas of renewable energy (RE), starting from biomass energy and hydropower and proceeding to wind, solar and geothermal energy before ending with an overview of ocean energy. It begins with a simple introduction to the physical principles of the RE technologies, followed by an enumeration of the requirements for their successful implementation. The last two chapters consider how the technologies are actually being implemented today and their roles in climate change mitigation and poverty alleviation.

Expanding on the first edition, 'Energy: Production, Conversion, Storage, Conservation, and Coupling (2nd Ed.)' provides readers with a practical understanding of the major aspects of energy. It includes extended chapters with revised data and additional practice problems as well as a new chapter examining sustainability and sustainable energy technologies. Like the first edition, it also explores topics such as energy production, conservation of energy, energy storage and energy coupling. Written for students across a range of engineering and science disciplines, it provides a comprehensive study guide. It is particularly suitable for courses in energy technology, sustainable energy technologies and energy conversion & management, and offers an ideal reference text for students, engineers, energy researchers and industry professionals. * Presents a clear introduction to the basic properties, forms and sources of energy * Includes a range of supporting figures, tables and thermodynamic diagrams * Provides course instructors with a solution manual for practice problems

For the Movers, Shakers, and Policy Makers in Energy Engineering and Related IndustriesThe latest version of a bestselling reference, Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Handbook, Second Edition covers the foremost trends and technologies in energy engineering today. This new edition contains the latest material on energy planning and policy, wi