Research Guides: Environmental Science *: Research

Research

Databases are searchable indexes of published sources. They bring together information from a variety of materials like journal articles, conference proceedings, newspapers, and magazines.

Start here for your environmental sciences research:

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
The collection contains agricultural science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from AGRICOLA. AGRICOLA is the definitive bibliographic database to agricultural science literature.
American Museum of Natural History Research Library
This collection includes full text of current and back issues of the five AMNH scientific series in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology conducted by museum scientists and their colleagues.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
The ASFA database provides citations and abstracts of the world's literature dealing with the science, technology and management of marine, freshwater and brackish water environments and organisms.
BioOne Complete
BioOne is a full-text online aggregation of over 80 high-impact, peer-reviewed bioscience research journals, covering the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. The titles are published by scientific societies and other nonprofit organizations, and most have, until now, been available only in print.
Docuseek 2 Complete Collection
The Docuseek2 Complete Collection contains 1800 exclusive documentarie from leading film producers and distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, the BBC, the National Film Board of Canada, CBC, Television Trust for the Environment, MediaStorm, Terra Nova Films, KimStim, and Scorpion TV, and other independent filmmakers from around the world. The Docuseek2 Collection has a focus on environmental studies and sciences, sociology, anthropology, global studies, area studies, women’s studies, history, political science, criminal justice, health, psychology, the arts, and more.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection
The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database includes the renowned Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth’s air, land, and water environments.
Energy Citations Database
ECD includes scientific and technical research results in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. It includes bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
Environmental Issues Online
Environmental Studies is an inherently multidisciplinary field, where solutions to real-world issues lie at the intersections of the social sciences, the biological and earth sciences, the humanities, legal studies and policy. This database will use text, archival primary sources and video to address major past and ongoing environmental issues—water challenges, air pollution, biodiversity, climate change, energy issues, consumption and waste issues, and land issues—in comparative, historical, global and interdisciplinary ways.
Environment Index
A comprehensive database to journal articles covering all aspects of environmental policy and politics.
Gale Science In Context
Science In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
GeoScienceWorld
This includes about fifty titles in the broad scope of earth sciences, including environmental geology, mineralogy, paleontology, seismology, etc., from a number of geologic societies around the world. It also includes links to open access journals and U.S. state governmental survey publications in earth sciences.
GreenFILE
This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts
Contains records drawn from the World's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Summaries from over 600 journal titles, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports and other monographs are included. MGA is produced by the American Meteorological Society with coverage from 1974 to current and update on monthly basis.
National Sea Grant Library
The National Sea Grant Library, NSGL, (formerly known as the National Sea Grant Depository) was established in 1970 as an archive and lending library for Sea Grant funded documents. These documents cover a wide variety of subjects, including oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation and law.
ProQuest SciTech Collection‎
This database combines full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.

Search these collections for environmental science ebooks:

National Academies Press Paid Publications
This includes a current catalog of more than 4,000 books plus future reports produced by the Press. The mission of the National Academies Press (NAP) -- publisher for the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council -- is to disseminate the institutions' content as widely as possible. Topics includes Behavioral and Social Sciences; Biology and Life Sciences; Computers and Information Technology; Conflict and Security Issues; Earth Sciences; Education; Energy and Energy Conservation; Engineering and Technology; Environment and Environmental Studies; Food & Nutrition; Health and Medicine; Industry and Labor; Math, Chemistry and Physics; Policy for Science and Technology; Space and Aeronautics; and Transportation and Infrastructure.
SpringerLINK
The SpringerLink database is the online central access point for Springer resources in all disciplines including arts, humanities, and social sciences, with particular strength in Science-Technology-Medicine. USC has access to hundreds of Springer e-journals and 6,500 new e-books / e-reference works every year (over 38,000 so far). USC owns all Springer e-books / e-reference works from 2005 up to present.
ProQuest Ebook Central
ProQuest Ebook Central is a web-based ebook lending platform for books on environmental engineering, environmental studies, biology, natural history, botany, etc.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
This web site provides access to the full-text content of 4,274 e-books purchased by the USC Libraries from netLibrary.

Popular titles are intended for general readership on a particular subject and are not peer reviewed or scholarly. Though, they can provide news on emerging trends and topics for further research.

American Fisheries Society: News
The American Fisheries Society is the world’s oldest and largest organization dedicated to strengthening the fisheries profession, advancing fisheries science, and conserving fisheries resources.
American Society for Environmental History
The American Society for Environmental History (ASEH) advances understanding of human interactions with the natural world by promoting historical research and teaching, and fostering dialogue about human use of the earth among humanists, social and environmental scientists, and the public. Its efforts benefit humankind by illuminating the past and providing perspective on current environmental issues.
American Solar Energy Society: Newsletter
Solar@Work is a bi-weekly newsletter aggregating news and happenings from the solar and renewable energy fields into one convenient place. From across the country and around the world, it’s your go-to source for the highlights, heroes and happenings that move us closer to the goal of 100% renewables.
Ecological Society of America: Bulletin
The Bulletin is the official record of the business of the Ecological Society of America. The Bulletin also covers ecological events, news and reports of interest to the ecological community.
The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
Established in 1964, the International Union for Conservation of Nature’s Red List of Threatened Species has evolved to become the world’s most comprehensive information source on the global conservation status of animal, fungi and plant species.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications
You can search, retrieve, download, print, and order EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials from this site – all free of charge!
Nature
Nature Research is here to serve the research community by publishing its most significant discoveries—findings that advance knowledge and address some of the greatest challenges that we face as a society today. Our journals publish not only primary research but also reviews, critical comment, news and analysis.
Nossaman’s Endangered Species Law & Policy Blog
Nossaman’s Endangered Species Law & Policy blog focuses on news, events, and policies affecting endangered species issues in California and throughout the United States. Topics include listing and critical habitat decisions, conservation and recovery planning, inter-agency consultation, and related developments in law, policy, and science. We also inform readers about regulatory and legislative developments, as well as key court decisions.
Ocean World
Welcome to Ocean World! This program is designed to inform students and educators on the latest topics of the oceanic world. The following web pages will dive into the mysteries found above and below the waves including the worlds of: fisheries, weather, forams, icebergs, coral reefs, and ice ages - just to name a few. Each page involves a set of subsections that address the various phenomenons of these topics and the roles that they play in the world which we live in.
Wetland and Aquatic Research Center
The Wetland and Aquatic Research Center (WARC) conducts relevant and objective research, develops new approaches and technologies, and disseminates scientific information needed to understand, manage, conserve, and restore wetlands and other aquatic and coastal ecosystems and their associated plant and animal communities throughout the Nation and the Southeast.