Native American and Indigenous Studies *

Oral History Online provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. The collection also provides keyword searching of more than 329,400 pages of full-text by close to 10,000 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to over 4,200 audio and video files and almost 19,000 bibliographic records.

Includes the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel, available in their entirety in this database, capturing history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. Also includes 750 documentaries from PBS, California Newsreel, A&E, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, The History Channel, and others.

Audio recordings of country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, western, old-time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape-note singing. (Alexander Street / ProQuest)

Includes digitized images of over 1,800 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the 20th century.

ProQuest has partnered with Ancestry.com to create Ancestry® Library Edition. It has coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada, Europe, Australia and other areas of the world. 

Adam Matthew publishes unique primary source collections from archives around the world. USC has access to all Adam Matthew collections and search here across all collections.

Draws on indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.4 million books and official publications, 64,891 archival collections and 15.6 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 10 bibliographic indexes, including over 300,000 records from the ongoing digitization of British Periodicals Collection.

Indexes to journals, newspapers, books, documents, artwork, and images primarily from the 12th century through 1960. Includes multidisciplinary coverage of primary materials in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Engineering, History of Science, Law, Economics, Religion, Psychology, Government Documents, Visual Arts, Music, and the Physical Sciences.

Provides centralized access to 48 Gale Primary source collections

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. With more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, the collection provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. Much of the material is previously unpublished. Several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time, are included, along with thousands of political cartoons. Never before have scholars been able to search these documents easily and find answers to complex questions with just a few clicks.

These digitized primary source materials are from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.

Search all of the libraries’ Readex databases from one search box.

A result of Gale's partnership with the Smithsonian Institution to create searchable archives of the Smithsonian's vast collections, this resource combines rare nineteenth and twentieth century archival materials on such topics as World'€™s Fairs and trade literature and is paired with modern Smithsonian Magazine and Air & Space Magazine backfiles to present unique and comprehensive insight into history, science, nature, the arts, innovation, technology, and world culture.

Provides access to over nearly 5,000 primary documents, as well as 185,000+ reference articles, over 613,000 periodical articles, and more than 73,000 images. This database covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes citations from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index, as well as the entire "American Journey Online" series.