It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
L.A. as Subject is an alliance of research archives, libraries, and collections dedicated to preserving the rich history of the Los Angeles region. Search the database for archives on Chicanos or Latinos.
At the City College of New York. The collection documents the Dominican experience in the United States.
Homer Advanced Search
Latino Archival Collections at USC
These collections are part of the Boeckmann Center's Chicano and Latino archival resources. Please make an appointment to view them in the Special Collections Department Reading Room in Doheny Library. Send your request by email to the Boeckmann Librarian email@example.com
For information on the Boeckmann Center's archival collection of Latino and Spanish language newspapers from California see the second box below.
Antonio Rios Bustamante Papers
[biography]Dr. Rios-Bustamante is a Professor of Chicano Studies and author of many books on Chicano and Latino history. He is a leading scholar and activist in the Chicano movement. His activities and papers go back to the earliest phases of the Chicano Movement in the 1960s and earlier as well. Dr. Rios-Bustamante’s archive reflects his involvement in many Chicano organizations and activities: Chicano Student organizations, the Denver Conference, La Raza Unida Party, the Chicano Moratorium,
[description] The papers reflect his critical role in the development of Chicano/Latino public history programs, research, and public policy advocacy. A leader in the movement in the 1980s to establish museums and public programs, He proposed and initiated the campaign for the establishment of a “California Museum of Latino History” in the mid 1980s. He has led in the development of several major public history programs, including historical exhibits and video documentaries. He is the producer and director of several major historical exhibits Size of the collection: 125 boxes.
B.L. Engineering Archive
The papers of a minority civil engineering firm in Los Angeles founded by Carlos Sebastian Lorente, a Cuban exile.
Cuban California Archive
This archive contains materials documenting the contributions of individuals, families and organizations within the Cuban community of Southern California. Includes: Dr. Aurelio de la Vega Collection; Bay of Pigs clippings; Cuban serials published in Southern California; the Havanafama theater group in Los Angeles; and scrapbooks of Esther Herrera.
Escuela Argentina de Los Angeles
[biography] Born in Pasadena to parents who fled Mexico during the Revolution of 1910 and came to the Pasadena in search of work as migrant laborers. Murillo is an alumnus of USC with a B.A., M.A and a WWII veteran. He received his PhD from Harvard in Spanish literature. While studying in Spain he developed a life-long interst in theworks of Cervantes and the Spanish language.
[description] The collection contains manuscripts, printed materials, photographs, ephemera and other items in these categories--1) personal and family documents; 2) professional and scholarly manuscripts and papers related to his research and teaching; 3) community interests, volunteerism and translation work within the greater Los Angeles community; 4) a collection of printed items documenting Spanish language usage in Los Angeles and Southern California
United Latino Artists of Los Angeles (ULALA)
Ruben Salazar papers
Primary Sources on Microfilm and Hardcopy Newspapers
Many of these primary resources are located among the archival resources in the Boeckmann Center for Iberian and Latin American Studies. This is a selective list only. Unless microfilm is specified the issues are hardcopy. To view them inquire at the Special Collections Reference Desk, on the second floor of Doheny Library, or send email to firstname.lastname@example.org to make an appointment with the Librarian.
Archival collection on Microfilm. Located in the Grand depository. Part 1: 1951-1971, Part 2: 1947-1990, [Part 3: not yet available at USC]--Part 1 has 47 reels, including the index, Part 2 has 64 reels, Part 3 has 67 reels.
A large collection of mainly Chicano journals, newspapers, newsletters, etc from the 1970s to present. The complete collection of the microfilm is available in the Boeckmann Center for Iberian and Latin American Studies, Special Collections Dept.
De Norte a Sur (New York) [microfilm]
Uruguayan and Argentine immigrant weekly. Distributed on the West Coast. Some hardcopy issues available.