Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nineteenth-Century Literary Studies: Online Guides to Archival Resources

This guide focuses on resources for the study of nineteenth century literature, with special emphasis on primary resources. Its origin can be traced to a 2003 research orientation offered to a graduate seminar on 19th-Century British Literature.

Guides to Archival Resources

 

National Archives UK (French Revolution)

ArchivesUSA (USC electronic resources page)

The ArchivesUSA database provides information about primary source materials from nearly 4,800 US manuscript repositories. ArchivesUSA includes records, complete with detailed indexes, about nearly 109,000 manuscript and other special collections.

The Historical Manuscripts Commission Part of the UK National Archives, has a specific role to organize and disseminate information about the location of manuscript collections across the country. Their website is http://www.hmc.gov.uk/

Online catalogues for the MSS (good but not comprehensive) 1) British Library 2) The Bodleian Library Oxford University

Archives Hub National gateway to descriptions of archives in UK universities and colleges.

Accessible Archives (USC Electronic Resources). Archival 18th- and 19th century Northeast newspaper resources.

Subject Guide

Sophie Lesinska's picture
Sophie Lesinska
Contact:
lesinska@usc.edu
909 681 4069