Statistics & Data: Data Archives

The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research is an archive of social science data with holdings that cover a range of subject areas including population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Data files and related documentation can be downloaded directly or, for select studies, analyzed online.

Developed at Harvard University by the Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS), the Dataverse Network Project is an open-source web application for creating online “dataverses” or data archives. Use to browse other archives or create your own.

The Roper Center maintains an archive of public opinion survey data--including the General Social Survey (1972-2008). Allows users to search survey questions or download data directly. Users will need to enter their USC email address to access data.

Council of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA) is "a gateway to many kinds of research data and metadata, including sociological surveys, election studies, longitudinal studies, opinion polls, and census data."

New site for locating U.S. data sources. Within catalog, check out the "Raw data", "tools", and "Geodata" tabs.

NCCS derives its data files primarily from information that tax-exempt nonprofit organizations file with the Internal Revenue Service. The data produced by NCCS are intended for use by researchers and policy-makers in their quantitative analyses, and as a springboard for more in-depth survey or case study research.

The collection includes federal and state census files, administrative records, public opinion surveys, economic and social data from national and international organizations, along with studies compiled by individual researchers. In addition, Cornell University subscribes to many different data resources including ICPSR and the Roper Center, providing access to a large variety of additional data sources. The CISER archive was founded in 1982.

The UK Data Service collection includes major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, and qualitative data.