Research Guides: Engineering *: Databases

General Databases

Engineering Village 2 This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search across 3 large engineering databases, or select a single database to search. Includes articles, patents, conference proceedings, in all areas of engineering and applied sciences.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database delivering full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A half century of pioneering concepts and fundamental research have been digitized and indexed in a variety of ways in this special collection of works published by ACM since its inception.The ACM Digital Library includes bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and full texts.
Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.
ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This database combines full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
PubMed@USC This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
Begell Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Begell Digital Library Collection is a consolidated and peer-reviewed collection of leading academic, research, and applied work in the fields of engineering and biomedical sciences.
Materials Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.
Knovel Chemistry & Nanotechnology Library This link opens in a new window
Knovel is a database for disciplines of chemistry and engineering. Includes the Merck Index, handbooks and other reference books for chemistry and nanotechnology as well as tools, calculators and converters for all science and engineering calculations.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Started in August 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles in the areas of physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology and statistics.arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library.

Specialized Databases

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
IEEE Draft Standards This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Draft Standards include 770 unapproved drafts—a combination of revisions of previous standards and new ideas that are in the standards development process, all approved drafts awaiting standards publication, and 1,500 archival drafts to trace the evolution of a standard.
Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) This link opens in a new window
TRAIL-Technical Report Archive and Image Library: a collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.
Techstreet standards This link opens in a new window
Techstreet provides access to standards and technical information from major publishers. Subscribed documents are available in PDF format and can be downloaded to your personal computer. Currently, USC subscribes to selected documents from ASCE, ASHRAE, ASME, IEC, ISEA, ISO, SAE. Downloaded documents can only be read using Adobe Acrobat with the FileOpen add-on. Both are available on the Techstreet website.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The SPIE Digital Library contains the world's largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. With more than 445,000 papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging, the SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive research database available on optics and photonics research.
Covered are books, journal articles and proceedings.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
BioOne is a full-text online aggregation of over 580 high-impact, peer-reviewed bioscience research journals and ebooks covering the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Publications This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the publications of AIAA, the premier provider of information on aerospace technology, engineering, and science. Their titles document the most important developments and the latest research in air and space history. their publications make the exchange of technical knowledge and information possible among aerospace professionals.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) This link opens in a new window
Access to ASME's Transaction Journals from 1880 to the present and ASME's Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) This link opens in a new window
NTRS provides access to aerospace-related citations and full-text online documents, papers, journal articles, conference papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos.
Includes citations and reports from the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (1915-1958); Citations and documents created or sponsored by NASA (1958 to present); and Citations and links to images, photos, movies, and videos from the discontinued NASA Image eXchange.
OnePetro This link opens in a new window
OnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
From one place, you can search and buy documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry.
Please note that domain address validation will now occur on OnePetro within each user My OnePetro account. The steps to domain address validate are as follows. Click on Register and complete a very short form to build your own My OnePetro account. Once done, click on My Account,then click on the Go button under Domain Validation. You will be asked to click on a button that says Validate Me. Once validated, access will be granted for 90 days.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Articles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Requires separate login. Go to USC's create an account page to register.