Magazine Articles and Trade Publications
-
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowProvides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. It covers dozens of subject areas and indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles and provides full-text for a significant number of the articles included.
In many databases you can limit the source type to magazines and trade publications.
News Databases
Newspaper articles provide current information and are a great starting point for learning about your topic.
-
Newspaper databaseContains articles from numerous national and international newspapers.
-
Los Angeles TimesFull-text major daily newspaper from Los Angeles. With the nation's largest editorial department, it offers extensive coverage of national, international, and local news. Coverage: 1985-current.
-
Lexis-Nexis AcademicAccess to national and international newspapers. Use the box titled "Search the News". For a list of publications available, go here: http://bit.ly/lexnexnews
-
Proquest Research LibrarySearch through newspaper and journal articles with the ability of narrowing to just newspapers.
Free Digital News Subscriptions
The USC Graduate Student Government offers free NY Times digital subscriptions to current USC students, faculty, and staff. Complete this form to start your NY Times subscription. Graduate students are eligible for complimentary NY Times Games access.
As part of USC’s sponsorship of the LA Times Festival of Books, all students, faculty and staff are eligible for a free one-year subscription to the Los Angeles Times. Use your USC email to sign up. If you are asked for a code, you can put any text into that field and it should work. When your renewal is about to expire, you will be notified by LA Times. At that time, they will let you know if the renewal for free access has been extended.
The trial offer includes unlimited access to latimes.com, as well as the LA Times app for mobile and tablet. In addition to award-winning storytelling, investigative reports, local news and commentary, this subscription includes early access to select LA Times podcasts, video series and special news projects, as well as subscriber-only editorial content.
USC Libraries provides USC affiliates a free digital subscription to the Wall Street Journal. New users are required to create an individual user account using their USC email address. Refer to USC Libraries Wall Street Journal guide for details and to start your digital subscription.
Get free unlimited access to Bloomberg.com for USC students and faculty. Gain access to the best minds in business and finance journalism today. Coverage includes:
- Unlimited access to Bloomberg.com and the Bloomberg app
- Unlimited streaming of live Bloomberg TV
- Unlimited access to live radio, podcasts, and narrated articles
- Subscriber-only content and newsletters
To start your subscription:
- Go to Create an Account at Bloomberg
- Enter your @usc.edu email address
- Verify your email by entering the 8-digit code sent to your inbox
- Set a password for your account and click "Confirm" to complete set up
Enjoy on-the-go access to comprehensive and customizable news, market data, and portfolio tracking on the device of your choice.
For questions about existing Bloomberg.com logins, email contactus@bloombergsupport.com