Research Process
Starting a research project is challenging when you don’t know much about the topic yet. Invest some time in conducting preliminary research in reference sources. Even Wikipedia can provide an overview of a topic but should be read with a critical lens. These background sources likely won’t be cited as evidence in your research paper, but they will help you focus your research question. Some of the databases listed below bundle objective and comprehensive topic overviews with persuasive essays, news sources, and some academic journals. See how the topic of "cell phones in schools" is covered in Opposing Viewpoints.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 645 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference is the ideal place to start any research.
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- SAGE eReference This link opens in a new windowSage e-Reference is a full-text collection of over 80 online specialized encyclopedias in the social sciences, including communications, gender studies, social work, history, psychology, etc.
Research and writing are not a straight line. Rather, they are part of an iterative process that involves preliminary searching, learning, dead ends, and breakthrough moments. Learn about how picking your topic itself is research in this 3 minute video.
Picking a Topic IS Research by libncsu is licensed (CC BY 3.0).
Picking a research topic can be challenging for some students. This video (2 minutes) from Washtenaw Community College can help you tap into your interests and expertise to explore compelling research topics.
After you’ve brainstormed your topic and identified the main ideas in your research question, take some time to create a list of 3 or 4 keywords. These keywords are the main points of your research question. Once you have identified your keywords, identify synonyms or related concepts for each keyword. Use these keywords as a resource to search and refine your search in library databases.
Let's take a sample research question and identify the main concepts.
How does cell phone use in schools affect student learning?
The main concepts in this research question are cell phones, schools, students, and learning. We can generate a list of synonyms and related concepts.
cell phones: smart phone, mobile phone, digital device, texting, social media
schools: high school, public school, secondary schools
students: pupil, teenagers, adolescents
learning: education, distraction, academic performance
Think like a researcher! As you look at articles and books on your topic, pay attention to terminology the authors use to identify more search terms. In the Martín-Rodríguez et al. (2022) article below, note the authors tagged the article with the keywords loneliness, physical activity, psychological inflexibility, adolescence, and experiential avoidance. Try refining your database searches as you identify more precise terms.
Martín-Rodríguez, A., Tornero-Aguilera, J. F., López-Pérez, P. J., & Clemente-Suárez, V. J. (2022). The effect of loneliness in psychological and behavioral profile among high school students in Spain. Sustainability, 14(1), 168-. https://doi.org/10.3390/su14010168