The USC Libraries license over 1500 subject-specific databases. This page include some commonly used literature databases while doing research and work in pharmaceutical sciences, translational sciences, clinical and experimental therapeutics, and related areas. Contact the library to get recommendations for additional databases to use for your specific question. At the bottom of this page, find some tutorials to common databases used in these areas.
Subject-specific databases typically require libraries to license (pay) for access. They are collections of citations to articles published in journals covering similar topics (e.g., chemistry, microbiology). Database creators review journal's editorial policies and select only some journals that meet quality standards.
Licensed, subject-specific databases include advanced search methods that allow for precise finding of relevant articles. Free, non-subject-specific databases (such as Google Scholar, the Everything Search on the library website, ResearchGate, etc.) do not cover a specific subject, have no review policy, and have more limited search capabilities. Licensed databases take more time to learn to use, but are more likely to provide subject-specific, relevant and scholarly articles.
Biology and Medicine
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new windowLife sciences and biomedical research database covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowWorldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and practice literature. Includes coverage of drug development, pharmacoeconomics, toxicity, regulation, and technology.
Chemistry databases
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowArticles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Requires separate login. Go to USC's create an account page to register.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowA chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface.
Multidisciplinary (all sciences)
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
Databases with quick access to chemical/drug data
- PubChem This link opens in a new windowRepository of chemical data focusing on biological activities of small molecules. Find physical, biological, and chemical properties, and relationships to health and disease.
- DrugBank This link opens in a new windowCombines chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical data with comprehensive drug targeting information.
Additional lists of databases
Search/browse the A-Z list of all databases, or review these guides for a deeper dive into recommended databases for other scientific areas.
Get full text articles
You will find the Find It @ USC button next to each citation in a licensed database. Watch this video to learn to use this button to access full-text licensed articles.