USC Library Holdings and Policies
Video Games:
They are held at the Cinema Library. The library was kind enough of to provide the list of their inventory in the excel sheet below. Modern Playstation, X-box, and Nintendo games can be circulated outside the library for 7 days. Retro games such as, Sega Genesis and Super Nintendo games, can only be played in the library. The library provides access to the PS4, Switch, PS3, Xbox one, Super NES, Sega Genesis, Sega Saturn, Gamecube, and a PS4 VR. The Playstation VR is accessible by appointment only. For more information contact the Cinema Library at cin@usc.edu.
Strategy Guides:
These books are located in different libraries across campus. They can be checked out for a semester.
Gaming Journals:
Physical copies of gaming journals can be found in the Cinema Libraries journal section. They cannot be circulated outside of the library but patrons can request scans of articles through ILL services. Check the link here for more information: https://libraries.usc.edu/idd-scan-deliver
Tabletop game books:
These books are primarily located at the Cinema Library. They can be borrowed for a semester.
Games in Library
Gaming Journals
A scholarly journal about video games, which published academic papers, conference proceedings, professional commentary, and papers from undergraduate and graduate students.
A monthly video game magazine that covered video game consoles and new(at the time) games.
Call Number CINEMA JRNLSTACKS GV1469.3 .E44
Game Informer
An American game magazine that featured reviews, tips, and previews.
Call Number CINEMA JRNLSTACKS GV1469.3 .G36
Journal of Gaming & Virtual Worlds
A European journal that focused on the study of video games and video game environment
Mean Machines
A U.K based game magazine that covered multiple 90s video game consoles, computers, and games.
Call Number: CINEMA JRNLSTACKS GV1469.3.M42 and CINEMA JRNLSTACKS GV1469.33.M43
Next generation.
A U.S based game magazine that focused on 32-bit consoles and industry news.
Call Number: CINEMA JRNLSTACKS GV1469.3 .N49
Nintendo Power
An American gaming magazine focused on Nintendo consoles and games.
Call number: CINEMA JRNLSTACKS GV1469.32 .N56
Official U.S. Playstation magazine.
A U.S based magazine that covered the Playstation consoles and games
Call number: CINEMA JRNLSTACKS GV1469.3 .O38
PSM 100% independent PS2 & PlayStation magazine.
A short-lived U.S based magazine that covers the Playstation consoles and games
Call number: CINEMA JRNLSTACKS GV1469.3 .P787
Sega Power
A U.K based video game magazine that focused on the Sega Consoles.
Call Number: CINEMA JRNLSTACKS GV1469.33.M43 and CINEMA JRNLSTACKS GV1469.33.S44
Sega Visions
A U.S based video game magazine based on the Sega Consoles.
Call Number: CINEMA JRNLSTACKS GV1469.33.M43 and CINEMA JRNLSTACKS GV1469.33.S443
VideoGames & computer entertainment.
A U.S published that provided strategies, tips, cheats, reviews, and media coverage for video game consoles, computers, and arcade games.
Call Number: CINEMA JRNLSTACKS GV1469.3 .V56
Strategy Guides
Armored Core by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.37 .H62 2000ISBN: 0761532870Publication Date: 2000-10-26Strike evil at its core. Armored Core 2 for the PlayStation2 takes the series to a new height of fun and pure AC robot combat. With Armored Core 2: Prima's Official Strategy Guide, Prima gives you the inside scoop on everything you need to know, including: - Expert tips for building an unbeatable Mech - Exhaustive lists of all weapons, items, and upgrades - Coverage of single- and two-player arena mode - Details all 169 Mech types- including 12 secret Mechs - Full descriptions of all 49 opponents and the tactics to beat them - Complete walkthroughs of all 36 missions
Call of Duty by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.3 .D47 2008ISBN: 9780744010565Publication Date: 2008-11-05Call of Duty- World at War takes WWII combat to the next level with a new enemy, new tactics and an uncensored experience of the climatic battles that gripped a generation. This Signature Series guide features a comprehensive walkthrough of the entire game. In-depth area maps. Detailed weapons listing. Extensive multiplayer coverage. Unlockables revealed! Signature Series guide includes bonus content, exclusive foldout and more! Call of Duty- World at War completely changes the rules of engagement by redefining WWII gaming and thrusting players into the final tension-filled, unforgiving battles against a new ferocious enemy in the most dangerous and suspenseful action ever seen in WWII. Powered by Call of Duty 4- Moderntechnology, Call of Duty- World at War brings an uncensored edge to Warfare combat, as soldiers face the most harrowing and climatic European and Pacific battles in which an enemy, who knows no surrender and no retreat, will fight to the last breath, unleashing an arsenal of lethal surprising tactics. Peril and danger lurk throughout the battlefield as players combat the unknown risk of the new chaos of battle.
DOA2 by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.37 .C35 2000ISBN: 0761533281Publication Date: 2000-10-24Bounce into the arena The hottest buff and buxom characters are back for even more action in one of the most highly anticipated PlayStation2 games, DOA2: Hardcore With all new play modes, fighting stages, and moves, you'll need DOA2: Hardcore- Prima's Official Strategy Guide to guide the way. Let Prima help you with: - Fierce moves and combo lists - In-depth coverage of all new game modes- five in all, including UPS Mode, CG Gallery, and Collection Mode - Killer tips for unlocking every secret - Thorough stats for each character- including Bayman and Tengu - Details on new PlayStation2 moves
EVE Online - ISK Strategy Guide by ISBN: 9781849693745Publication Date: 2012-10-19A game strategy guide that focuses solely on maximising your in game earning. Whether you are new pilot plugging into your first capsule or have years of experience in EVE, this book is for you. No prior knowledge of EVE Online required.
Final Fantasy VII Official Guide by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.62.F6 C37 1997ISBN: 1566867142Publication Date: 1997-08-28Features a walkthrough and the maps to help you navigate the game. This guide includes character descriptions, lists of items, monsters and magic and the revelation of secrets. It provides 350 full-colour maps and details of ultimate weapons, extreme breaks, complete bestiary and boss strategies.
Final Fantasy X by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.62.F57 B57 2002ISBN: 0744001404Publication Date: 2001-12-17BradyGames FINAL FANTASY X Official Strategy Guide contains a comprehensive walkthrough with detailed strategy to steer you in the right direction, complete with unbeatable strategy, and without plot spoilers! The unstoppable boss strategy provides powerful tactics to topple every boss in the game! Secrets revealed to unlock every character's legendary weapon. Every side quest and mini-game uncovered to help you become the ultimate blitzer! All-inclusive bestiary lets you discover the strengths and weaknesses of every fiend in the game and the spoils rewarded for defeating them. Game secrets include secret world map locations and airship passwords. Plus, area maps, detailed item, weapon, and armor inventories are also included! This Signature Series guide combines quality design and innovative content, serving as the ultimate FINAL FANTASY X resource. Some of the features in this guide include a special cover treatment, exclusive interviews, and an exclusive two-sided poster, with sphere grid & Rikku's overdrive, and mix.
Lunar : silver star story complete : official strategy guide.Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.35.L84 L86 1999ISBN: 0966299310Publication Date: 1999
Metal gear solid : tactical espionage action : official mission handbook.Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.35.M46 M48 1998ISBN: 1893102769Publication Date: 1998
Prototype by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.25.P76 H63 2009ISBN: 9780761562191Publication Date: 2009-06-09•Turn Alex Mercer into a real killing machine: Every combo attack, Devastator strike, airborne maneuver chain revealed in incredible detail! •Upgrade Path: We flag all the Power Upgrades, which ones to purchase first, and how to use them. •Mutations and Revelations: Complete biographies for all characters, and tactics on taking down every single enemy. •Thorough Walkthrough, showing multiple methods for finishing each Mission on Hard Difficulty. •Fully-annotated Maps showing every location, Mission waypoint, Event, Collectible, and more. •All Events shown, along with tried and tested plans to obtain the fabled Platinum rating on each and every one!
SimCity 2000 by Call Number: LIPA BOOKSTACKS HT166 .S33 1995ISBN: 1566862051Publication Date: 1995-04-12This two-colour guide provides advice and strategies players need to plan their own city. The book provides real-life comparisons and scenarios and reveals secrets, tricks and mechanisms for winning the model scenarios.
Street Fighter Alpha 3 by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.35.S74 M45 1999ISBN: 1566868866Publication Date: 1999-04-26This guide includes complete moves lists and combos for every character, and all the secrets and hidden characters, from Capcom.
Totally Unauthorized Fighting Secrets III by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.33T68 1996ISBN: 1566866413Publication Date: 1996-11-26Offering a strategy guide that provides players with the moves, techniques and secret codes, this book covers such games as Virtua Fighter, Mortal Kombat Trilogy, WarGods, Tekken 2 and Street Fighter III.
Tabletop Games
Advanced Dungeons and Dragons Oriental Adventures by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.62.D84 G95 1985ISBN: 0880380993Publication Date: 1985-11-01
Ars Magica by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.62.A77 A77 1992ISBN: 9781565040212Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Changeling by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.62.C44 C43 1998ISBN: 1565047168Publication Date: 1997-08-01The second edition of this book, featuring a clarified and expanded setting and cosmology, as well as completely new and revised rules, while still remaining compatible with the first edition and the rest of the Storyteller games.
Complete Dreamlands by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.62.C34 C66 1997ISBN: 1568820860Publication Date: 1997-04-01
Cyberpunk 2020 by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.62.C89 C83 1993ISBN: 0937279137Publication Date: 1990-08-01
Diablo II by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.62.D84 C67 2000ISBN: 0786916125Publication Date: 2000-03-01This action-packed epic takes the world of the Diablo II computer game and translates it into the ultimate AD&D adventure. Create AD&D heroes with a Diablo twist, then send them off to challenge terrors that were once only found on a computer screen. The adventure starts in Tristram, the site of the original Diablo game, then takes the heroes to the mysterious Monastery of the Sightless Eye -- full of dangers and challenges pulled right from Diablo II but enhanced for a traditional roleplaying game experience. This epic adventure allows expert AD&D players to delve into the world of the Diablo computer game. This book contains nineteen two-color illustrations and maps and a bound-in, two-sided, full-color map booklet. Origins Award winner Bruce Cordell abandoned biopharmaceutical research when TSR offered to pay him for making up stuff. Since then, Bruce has written over a dozen products, including The Gates of Firestorm Peak, The Return to the Tomb of Horrors, and Tangents.
GURPS Basic Set by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.62.G85 J33 1996ISBN: 9781556341274Publication Date: 1996-05-01-- One of the best-selling roleplaying systems for more than a decade, and still getting stronger...currently ranked #3 by Comics Retailer Magazine. -- Winner of both the Origins Award and Gamer's Choice Award for Best Roleplaying Game! -- Written by Steve Jackson, one of the best-known names in roleplaying. GURPS, the Generic Universal RolePlaying System, is the most flexible roleplaying system you can use. One set of rules that works for all genres. Adventure in any world you can think of. It's easy to learn...you can jump right in with quick-start rules, pre-designed characters, and an easy-to-play solo adventure.
GURPS Compendium I by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.62.G85 P86 1999ISBN: 9781556342905Publication Date: 1997-06-01
GURPS Compendium II by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.62.G85 P87 1996ISBN: 1556343272Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Players Handbook Advanced Dungeons and Dragons by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.62.D84 A38 1989ISBN: 0880387165Publication Date: 1989-03-01
Shadowrun by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.62.S52 S53 1992ISBN: 1555601804Publication Date: 1992-09-01
Vampire by Call Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.62.V34 R45 1992ISBN: 1565040295Publication Date: 1993-08-01What are we? The Damned childer of Caine? The grotesque lords of humanity? The pitiful wretches of eternal hell? We are vampires, and that is enough. I am vampire, and that is far more than enough. I am that which must be feared, worshipped and adored. The world is mine -- now and forever. No one holds command over me. No man. No god. No prince. What is a claim of age for ones who are immortal? What is a claim of power for ones who defy death? Call your damnable hunt. We shall see whom I drag screaming to hell with me. Vampire is developed by Robert Hatch. Seize the night in the Storytelling game of personal horror. Vampires live their unlives in a world of deadly Archons and treacherous Tremere, where ancient Inconnu play their games against a backdrop of horrid diablerie. Into this maelstrom come the neonates, striving against all odds to maintain both their freedom and their souls.
Warhammer fantasy role-playCall Number: CINEMA BOOKSTACKS GV1469.62.W35 W37 1995ISBN: 9781899749010Publication Date: 1995
