Clinical Trials Resources
Trial registries can be used to search for protocols and to identify unpublished studies and outcomes. Resources with the broadest global perspective are listed first. Cochrane Library can be used to search Cochrane CENTRAL, which contains records from the WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform and ClinicalTrials.gov
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)CENTRAL is created from many trusted sources. Most records come from bibliographic databases (mainly Pubmed and Embase.com). They also come from other published and unpublished sources, including CINAHL, ClinicalTrials.gov and the WHO's International Clinical Trials Registry Platform. Records get included irrespective of language or date of publication.
- WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform This link opens in a new windowCentral database with access to clinical trial data sets from international trial registries around the world.
- ISRCTN Registry This link opens in a new windowThe ISRCTN (International Standard Randomised Controlled Trial Number) registers all clinical research studies (proposed, ongoing or completed) and provides each one with a unique identifying number. All study records in the database are searchable and freely accessible.
- Clinical Trials Registers This link opens in a new windowInternational listing of clinical trials registers compiled by the York Health Economics Consortium, University of York, UK.
- ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new windowRegistry and results database; includes information about publicly & privately funded studies including; completed & ongoing trials, research design, results, and contact information.
- European Clinical Trials Database This link opens in a new windowRegister to make clinical trial results publicly available through the European Union Clinical Trials Register.
- European Union Clinical Trials Register This link opens in a new windowSearch for protocol and results information on interventional clinical trials conducted in the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA); and those conducted outside the EU / EEA that are linked to European paediatric-medicine development.
- Centerwatch Clinical Trials This link opens in a new windowSearch clinical trials or browse by medical condition, therapeutic area, or location.
- ClinicalResearch.comFind and learn about IQVIA clinical trials and patient communities.
- The Yale University Open Data Access (YODA) ProjectThis site facilitates access to participant-level clinical research data for over 400 studies. PIs can apply for access to re-use specific data.
- OpenTrials (beta)An open, online database of information about the world’s clinical research trials. Matches documents and data for each trial including registry entries, papers, regulatory documents; methods and results; researchers, clinical study reports, and more.
Regulatory Information
Clinical and statistical reviews can provide information on directions for use, efficacy & effectiveness, and safety. Some of the more commonly searched resources are listed below, grouped geographically and then by scope of coverage (American, European, Canadian).
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) This link opens in a new windowGovernment resource including broad coverage of: health topics, Evidence-based Practice Center reports, US government programs, research tools, data and statistics, grants, consumer health.
- U.S. Patent and Trademark Office This link opens in a new windowThis office reviews and approves United States patent and trademark applications. Find the full text of patents from 1790-present and trademarks from 1940-present. Find information how to apply for a patent or trademark, and regulations.
- The LensFree resource used to find, analyze, and manage patent and scholarly data. Anyone in the world can use and export all Lens data. Individual account registration is only required to access additional features.
- European Medicines Agency This link opens in a new windowThis organization approves and regulates human and veterinary medicines in the European Union (EU). Find detailed information on approved drugs, news about the EMA, and information on how drugs are tested and regulated in the EU.
- British Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA)The MHRA is responsible for regulating all medicines and medical devices in the UK. Find reports and information.
- Espacenet Patent Search This link opens in a new windowSearch patents registered with the European Patent Office and additional worldwide patents. Includes machine translations of patents.
- Health Canada - Drugs and Health Products This link opens in a new windowHealth Canada regulates drugs and health products in Canada. Find reports and publications, recalls, legislation and guidelines, and additional information.
- 3ie BriefsInternational Initiative for Impact Evaluation- this site contains policy statements, systematic reviews and a repository of impact evaluations.
Regulatory Information - FDA
FDA resources are some of the main resources to search for grey literature, particularly for documents about unpublished clinical trials. The most commonly searched resources are Drugs@FDA and Devices@FDA. See Paynter's guide for specifics on what and how to search these sites.
- Drugs@FDA This link opens in a new windowSearch for prescription and over the counter drugs approved for sale in the United States; find approved labels, original application documents as submitted by the drug company, and replies from the Food and Drug Administration.
- FDA - Drug Approvals and Databases This link opens in a new window
- Devices@FDA This link opens in a new windowSearch for approved United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) medical devices. Results include links to device summary information, manufacturer, approval date, user instructions, and other consumer information.
- FDA Medical Device DatabasesList of databases run by the FDA with medical device regulations. Last updated 2022; search main FDA website for additional databases.
- FDA Docket's ManagementFDA's Dockets Management serves as the official repository for the administrative proceedings and rule-making documents for the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
- FDA - Freedom of Information RequestSubmit an electronic Freedom of Information Access request.
Regulatory Information - USC Resources
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowA one-stop community platform for objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. Provides one-stop advanced search across millions of pages of books, articles, working papers, reports, policy briefs, data sets, tables, charts, media, case studies, and statistical publications. Archived reports from 200+ defunct think tanks. Licensed content from Council of Europe, African Books Collective, Environmental Law Institute, and more.
Additional guides to regulatory resources.
- Public Administration & Policy GuideThis guide provides information and links in the field of public administration and related sub-disciplines.
- Regulatory Sciences Department GuideGuide to sources such as books, journals, websites, etc. useful for regulatory sciences study and research.
Government Documents
Government documents contain many grey literature documents. The first three resources are the most commonly searched. The remaining resources are grouped geographically (American, European).
- NIH RePORTer - Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools This link opens in a new windowResource dedicated to providing access to reports, data, and analysis of NIH funded research.
- NTIS (National Technical Information Service) This link opens in a new windowContaining millions of bibliographic records, this database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. The database represents billions of dollars in research. Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964.
- AHRQ Research Summaries for Consumers, Clinicians, and PolicymakersFree research summaries on various health topics; i.e. policy reports, white papers, technical briefs, etc.
- National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) This link opens in a new windowGuidelines for United Kingdom (UK) National Health Services (NHS).
Guidelines
National Guideline Clearinghouse will no longer be available after July 16 2018. There is no replacement product with the scope and depth of NGC. Use one or more of these sources to identify and access full-text guidelines.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive database of full-text for nursing & allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of ebooks, journals, guidelines, patient education handouts, drug monographs, images, and videos focusing on clinical health care. Includes MEDLINE full-text.
- Guidelines.co.uk This link opens in a new windowSummaries of guidelines and recommendations from United Kingdom governmental agencies and European and global professional groups. Includes links to full-text of guidelines. Registration is not required to access guidelines.
- National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) This link opens in a new windowGuidelines for United Kingdom (UK) National Health Services (NHS).
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- TRIP Database This link opens in a new windowThis clinical search engine allows users to quickly find high-quality research evidence to support practice or care. It also searches for images, videos, and patient education handouts.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
Professional groups, non-profit organizations, and government agencies often develop guidelines and make them available freely on their websites. Search or browse groups like the World Health Organization, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Veterans Health Administration, or U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. Use Google to find additional groups focused on your specialty.
United States Health Resources
Additional U.S. resources.
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)HHS is the U.S. government’s principal agency for health protection. Content includes news, grants, prevention, and regulation information. Under the HHS Secretary tab find links to a blog, speeches, op-eds and more.
- CDC The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)NIOSHTIC-2 is a searchable bibliographic database of occupational safety and health publications.
- SafetyLitInjury prevention literature.
Associations
- IFPMA International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers & AssociationsIFPMA represents the research-based pharmaceutical industry, including the biotechnology and vaccine sectors from both developing and developed countries.
- PhRMA - Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of AmericaThe PhRMA represents biopharmaceutical researchers and biotechnology companies. Search options include media type, conversations, speeches, and white papers.