Research Guides: PR 522: Storytelling with Data Intelligence: Market Research

Market Research Reports

Advertising Red Books (Winmo) This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on advertising agencies and advertisers.
Agency Database contains detailed profiles of close to 15,000 U.S. and international agencies, including clients, fields of specialization, and more. Advertiser Database contains exclusive information on nearly 21,000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Use Quick Search or Advanced Search to access one or both databases.
2 users access
Insider Intelligence (formerly known as eMarketer) This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis, market data, and statistics on the Internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
WARC This link opens in a new window
Previously known as the World Advertising Research Center, WARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.
Passport This link opens in a new window
It includes company profiles, some with SWOT analysis, country briefings, sector briefings, sector data, industry watch articles and detailed Consumer Lifestyle reports.
It includes company profiles, some with SWOT analysis, country briefings, sector briefings, sector data, industry watch articles and detailed Consumer Lifestyle reports.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports and Mintel Trends provide comprehensive, in-depth consumer and market analysis and trends. Mintel Global New Product Database includes detailed product data on new products in the food, drink, beauty and personal care, health and hygiene, home care and pet markets..
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform and providing companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Forrester This link opens in a new window
Technology and market research from Forrester Research, Inc. focusing on the business implications of technology change.
Snapshots This link opens in a new window
This database offers top-line international market research overviews focusing on 40+ industries in more than 40 countries worldwide, including regional summaries. It provides market size, share, forecasts and segments.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry Market Research reports and Industry Risk Ratings. Focuses on United States, but has some data on global markets.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Find lengthy, detailed market reports or brief white papers describing all types of businesses. Covers international and US markets.
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) This link opens in a new window
Sports Business Research Network provides market research and industry news for the sports industry.
SBRnet's site combines market research from the largest single research supplier to the industry, the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by VNU, the world's largest sporting goods trade publisher, and newsletters provided by leading independent industry experts.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
BCC Research provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports.

Mint Global
US and international company information from Bureau van Dijk including Datamonitor market research and company reports.
Orbis
US and international company information from Bureau van Dijk including Datamonitor market research and company reports (same content as Mint Global with a different interface).

Company Research

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
PrivCo is the premiere source for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. You must create an account (USC e-mail address) to login.
Business Insights Global This link opens in a new window
Business Insights: Global is a source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries. Also known as Gale Business Insights.

Passport/Global Market Information Database
Global Market Information Database (GMID by Euromonitor) providesinternational company, country, industry and market information. Searchoptions include industries, countries, consumers, companies andgeographies. User has ability to download reports in Word, Excel or PDF
Mergent Online
U.S. Company Data. An Internet-accessible subscription service covering 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings
International Company Data. More companies from more countries than any other international database, with global searching across databases.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
A comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor's independent research, data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and industries. Content includes detailed tock reports, company profiles, bond reports, corporation records, mutual fund reports, security dealers directory and industry surveys.

Gartner This link opens in a new window
Use the "Advanced Search" feature to locate full-text articles available to USC users. Not all documents are available in full-text form. Research from Gartner, Inc., an information technology research and advisory company. Gartner works with clients to research, analyze and interpret the business of IT.
Not all documents are available in full-text form. Use the "Advanced Search" feature to locate full-text articles available to USC users.

Advertising & Industry Research

There is an Industry Research Guide that has a wealth of information to explore.

information

Market Research study of a market or potential market for a company’s product. Market research is done before developing or changing a product to ensure that there is demand for the product and that the product will be distinct from similar products. Market research involves surveying current and potential customers about what types of products or services they might want. It also may involve looking at other research conducted on the demographics of a region or a group of potential customers.

Market research. (2003). In Webster's new world finance and investment dictionary. Retrieved from https://libproxy.usc.edu/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com.libproxy.usc.edu/content/entry/wileynwfid/market_research/0

Using Market Research:

What type of information would you be interested in locating about your company Netflix, Abercrombie & Fitch, Volvo, or WNBA?

attract new customers

change image

launch a new project or event

Media Rates

SRDS - Standard Rate and Data Service This link opens in a new window
SRDS is produced by Standard Rate and Data Service, which compiles contact information and ad rates for a variety of media sources.
The print versions are useful when you have specific publications in mind, but our online access allows you to search across publications using keywords.
Advertising Red Books (Winmo) This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on advertising agencies and advertisers.
Agency Database contains detailed profiles of close to 15,000 U.S. and international agencies, including clients, fields of specialization, and more. Advertiser Database contains exclusive information on nearly 21,000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Use Quick Search or Advanced Search to access one or both databases.
2 users access