What are scholarly sources?
Scholarly sources are typically publications that have been reviewed by experts within that field before publication. These can include, books, and peer-reviewed journal articles. The resources on this page provide access to scholarly materials. Both scholarly and popular sources are useful when doing research. While scholarly sources are not perfect, the extensive publication process includes many steps for verifying facts, and identifying conflicts of interest which is important for social work practice and education.
Databases
- American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new windowReports, publications, and news broadcasts covering America's fight for racial justice, with firsthand analysis of race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa, and Asia.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new windowThe Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
- Caribbean Search This link opens in a new windowIt is a multidisciplinary database that provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region. The collection contains over 730 Caribbean-focused scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports and reference books making this the largest collection of full-text content available for the region.
- Chicano Database This link opens in a new windowA major bibliographic database for topics in the humanities, social and behavioral sciences on Mexican-Americans and Chicano and Latino Studies.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowGenderWatch features publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including media, health sciences, political science, and more.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowLGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Transsexual issues.
- ONE Archives at the University of Southern California Periodical Collection This link opens in a new windowONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives at the USC Libraries is the largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world.
Books
The End of Policing by Call Number: HV8139 .V58 2017ISBN: 9781784782894Publication Date: 2017-10-10How the police endanger us and why we need to find an alternative Recent years have seen an explosion of protest against police brutality and repression--most dramatically in Ferguson, Missouri, where longheld grievances erupted in violent demonstrations following the police killing of Michael Brown.
The New Jim Crow by Call Number: HV9950 .A437 2010ISBN: 9781595586438Publication Date: 2012-01-16Once in a great while a book comes along that changes the way we see the world and helps to fuel a nationwide social movement. The New Jim Crow is such a book. Praised by Harvard Law professor Lani Guinier as "brave and bold," this book directly challenges the notion that the election of Barack Obama signals a new era of colorblindness.
Nobody by Call Number: HN90.S62 H55 2016ISBN: 9781501124945Publication Date: 2016-07-26A New York Times bestseller [Nobody] examines the interlocking mechanisms that systematically disadvantage 'those marked as poor, black, brown, immigrant, queer, or trans ;those, in Hill's words, who are Nobodies...
Toxic Communities by Call Number: GE230 .T38 2014ISBN: 9781479852390Publication Date: 2014-06-20Uncovers the systemic problems that expose poor communities to environmental hazards From St. Louis to New Orleans, from Baltimore to Oklahoma City, there are poor and minority neighborhoods so beset by pollution that just living in them can be hazardous to your health.
Journals
- Clinical Social Workpeer-reviewed original articles relevant to contemporary clinical practice with individuals, couples, families, and groups.
- Intersectionalitiespeer-reviewed, open access journal sponsored by Memorial University's School of Social Work. The journal is international in scope, and publishes articles relating to social work analysis, research, polity, and practice.
- Journal of LGBT issues in CounselingThe Journal of LGBT Issues in Counseling is the national, peer-refereed journal affiliated with the Society for Sexual, Affectional, Intersex, and Gender Expansive Identities, a division of the American Counseling Association.
Selected Scholarly Articles
- Colonial Encounters: Racialized Social Workers Negotiating Professional Scripts of WhitenessBadwall, H. (2015). Colonial Encounters: Racialized Social Workers Negotiating Professional Scripts of Whiteness. Intersectionalities: A Global Journal Of Social Work Analysis, Research, Polity, And Practice, 3(1), 1–23. Retrieved from http://journals.library.mun.ca/ojs/index.php/IJ/article/view/996
- White privilege and clinical social work practice: Reflections and recommendationsDavis, A., & Gentlewarrior, S. (2015). White privilege and clinical social work practice: Reflections and recommendations. Journal of Progressive Human Services, 26(3), 191-208. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/10428232.2015.1063361
- Racialized Communities, Producing Madness and Dangerousness.Keating, F. (2016). Racialized Communities, Producing Madness and Dangerousness. Intersectionalities: A Global Journal Of Social Work Analysis, Research, Polity, And Practice, 5(3), 173–185. Retrieved from http://journals.library.mun.ca/ojs/index.php/IJ/article/view/1664
- Intersecting Sexual, Gender, and Professional Identities Among Social Work Students: The Importance of Identity IntegrationCraig, S., Iacono, G., Paceley, M., Dentato, M., & Boyle, K. (2017). Intersecting Sexual, Gender, and Professional Identities Among Social Work Students: The Importance of Identity Integration. Journal of Social Work Education, 53(3), 466-479.
- Intersectionality and social work: Omissions of race, class, and sexuality in graduate school educationBubar, R., Cespedes, K., & Bundy-Fazioli, K. (2016). Intersectionality and social work: Omissions of race, class, and sexuality in graduate school education.Journal of Social Work Education, 52(3), 283-296. Retrieved from http://libproxy.usc.edu/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/1812934942?accountid=14749
- The Current State of Feminism and Social WorkWendt, S., & Moulding, N. (2017). The Current State of Feminism and Social Work. Australian Social Work, 70(3), 261-262.
- Does Feminism Convince Us?Weisman, C. (2017). Does Feminism Convince Us. Research on Social Work Practice, 27(4), 512-514.
- Exploring social work students’ attitudes towards feminism: opening up conversationsCree, V., & Dean, J. (2015). Exploring social work students’ attitudes towards feminism: Opening up conversations. Social Work Education, 1-18.