It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contains some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust
This resource contains papers issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970.
These are the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices and include single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports, and texts of treaties. The documents in Confidential Print: Africa cover the whole of the modern period of European colonization of the continent.
The Confidential Print: Latin America series offers in full text the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Office, from one-page letters or telegrams to large volumes or texts of treaties.
These items were printed and circulated to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad. The documents cover Latin America and the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the height of the Cold War in the 1960s. Covering revolutions, territorial changes and political movements, foreign financial interests, industrial and infrastructural development (including the building of the Panama Canal), wars, slavery, immigration from Europe and relations with indigenous peoples.
Documents on British Policies Overseas is a historical database which contains thousands of UK government documents relating to Britain's international relations, including foreign policy instructions, letters and memos, business reports, and more.
These primary source materials have been selected by the official historians of Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and, in many cases, have been declassified at their request for inclusion in this series. Coverage includes over 50,000 documents from 1898-1990s.
Includes approximately 60,000 images of original manuscripts and printed materials covering the period 1492-1962. It is organized into five sections, each of which combines both images of original documents and essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies:
Section I: Cultural Contacts
Section II: Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire
Section III: The Visible Empire
Section IV: Religion and Empire
Section V: Race, Class, and Colonialism
Provides complete coverage (nearly 12,000 pages) of the Cabinet Conclusions (Minutes) and Memoranda. Also provides access to 165 files (over 16,000 pages) from the Prime Minister's Private Office
With some 30,000 images of original documents, taken from CAB 128 and CAB 129 as well as selected files from PREM 11 and CAB 124 this project is as important a source for world history as it is for British politics.
Includes approximately 10 million pages and more than 21,000 works from the 19th and 20th centuries on British Commonwealth and American law for research in British and United States legal history. The types of works included are classic treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and others.
The works, derived primarily from the special collections at Harvard, Yale, Columbia, and York University in Toronto, cover every aspect of law and encompass a range of analytical, theoretical, and practical literature, with many being quite rare and generally unavailable at USC or anywhere in the southern California. The types of works included are classic treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and others.
The Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926 is a digital collection of more than 10,000 titles describing courtroom dramas published between 1600 and 1926.
The two million pages of searchable content is derived from primary source documents located in the law libraries of Yale University, Harvard University, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York. Included in the collection are unofficially published trial accounts, official trial documents, administrative proceedings, and arbitrations.The collection offers up content describing scandalous courtroom dramas and the daily lives of everyday people around the world, providing a rare historical glimpse into a given era.
Contains state papers, chronicles, accounts and correspondence from the archives of Britain, Ireland and continental Europe.
Combines the key printed sources for English, Irish, Scottish and Colonial history with original manuscripts. The printed sources contain a large repository of state papers, chronicles, accounts and correspondence from the archives of Britain, Ireland and continental Europe. Original manuscript images are taken from the English State Papers held at the National Archives in London, United Kingdom.
The British Foreign Office Political Correspondence on World War I begins with the assassination of Archduke Francis Ferdinand of Austro-Hungary in July 1914 and continues through until the armistice between Germany and the Allies in November 1918, and beyond, into 1920. Along the way, this formerly confidential correspondence addresses a wide variety of topics on World War I as reported by and to the British Foreign Office. The documents include dispatches, reports, and telegrams.
The rolls were first edited and published in 1783 in six folio volumes. This new edition reproduces the rolls in their entirety, plus those subsequently published by Cole, Maitland, and Richardson and Sayles as well as a substantial amount of material never previously published, together with a full translation of all the texts from the three languages used by the medieval clerks. Also includes an introduction to every parliament known to have been held by an English king (or in his name) between 1275 and 1504.
The rolls, which amount in total to over four million words, were first edited in the eighteenth century and published in 1783 in six folio volumes. This new edition reproduces the rolls in their entirety, plus those subsequently published by Cole, Maitland, and Richardson and Sayles as well as a substantial amount of material never previously published, together with a full translation of all the texts from the three languages used by the medieval clerks It also includes an introduction to every parliament known to have been held by an English king (or in his name) between 1275 and 1504.
(1509-1782) This collection of English State Papers covers the reigns of the Tudors, the Stuarts, and the Hannovers (up to George III's rule in 1782).
The British State Papers are the official records of the Secretaries of State serving the ruling monarch of the day; they contain correspondence, reports, memoranda, parliamentary drafts and depositions from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators on almost every subject. This online collection gathers in one place the Domestic, Foreign, Borders, Scotland, and Ireland State Papers of Britain with the Registers of the Privy Council and other State Papers, making it easier to research 16th-18th century British history. Provided by Gale-Cengage.