Skip to Main Content

Research Lifecycle

This research guide provides asynchronous instruction on various aspects, skill sets, and methods related to the research lifecycle.

Learning Outcome:

  • Identify and locate subject-specific resources
  • Develop keywords and search terms from a research topic 
  • Develop iterative search strategies for locating relevant sources
Database Overview
Database Overview

This tutorial covers Database Searching.
After completing this tutorial you will be able to:
Find a database for your research regardless of subject area
Locate subject-specific Research Guides
Identify 1-2 subject-specific resources
Find a faculty librarian subject specialist or specialized subject library.
It will take approximately 10 minutes to complete.

Start
Boolean Searching
Boolean Searching

This tutorial covers Boolean Searching.
After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
Brainstorm keywords for your research topic
Use Boolean logic when searching in library databases
It will take between 5 - 7 minutes to complete.

 

 

Start

Nesting Search

This tutorial will cover how to format nesting searches to conduct advanced searches with more relevant results.
It will take between 3-5 minutes to complete.

 

 

 

 

Start

Advanced Searching: APA PsycINFO
Advanced Searching: APA PsycINFO

This tutorial provides instruction on using advanced search techniques in APA PsycINFO database.
After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
Find APA Thesaurus subject terms and implement them in searches.
Utilize APA PsycINFO's searchable fields to manipulate results to include inclusion of tests & measures, author affiliation, or grants.
Use filters to sort search results.
Use Boolean logic when searching in library databases
It will take between 35-50 minutes to complete.

Start